Counting Your Collection

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Tigertrack, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. Tigertrack

    Tigertrack Back In The Game!

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7,054
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    This may sound like a stupid question, I don't know. But when you count your collection, how do you count your combiners? What I mean is, when your combiners are combined, example Devestator, does that count as one figure? Or do you still count the individual's that make up Devestator even though he's in one combined form?
     
  2. Auto Morph

    Auto Morph Gimmick Bot

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    8,449
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Any combiners (or multi-figure packs) I own I count as one figure. Not sure why exactly, just always have.
     
  3. Tigertrack

    Tigertrack Back In The Game!

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7,054
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    What about somebody like G1 Reflector? He is three separate robots, but is one alt-mode.
     
  4. Auto Morph

    Auto Morph Gimmick Bot

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    8,449
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Same, count him as one figure. I'm just talking about cataloguing my collection here. As for actually considering each individual component of say, Devastator, then I'm not so sure...
     
  5. Dran0n

    Dran0n Junk male

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    13,285
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    217
    Location:
    Cygnus X-1 (ya bish)
    Likes:
    +6
    I count each robot.
     
  6. chrisr291

    chrisr291 Master of the Unknown

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    12,359
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +33
    Ebay:
    Yeah I count each robot also. Scrapper, Onslaught, and Divebomb are robots too!
     
  7. Transbot90210

    Transbot90210 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    14,849
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +7
    With combiners I count each individual robot as one but the combined mode DOES NOT get a count.

    I also count reflector as 3.

    The only time I would count 2 bots as 1 is with a headmaster because you need a head to be a robot.

    Thanx
    Transbot90210
     
  8. Hyperoptic

    Hyperoptic G1-Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5,588
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +6
    I count each robot/character as well..
    Combiners for example: 5 bots makes 1 big bot = 6 bots
    That's just me..
     
  9. Lock Cade

    Lock Cade Tarn Fangirl TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    26,861
    Trophy Points:
    352
    Location:
    Michigan
    Likes:
    +97
    I typically count the combiners individually and not as one whole figure.
     
  10. Autobot Burnout

    Autobot Burnout SANTARN IS COMING AGAIN TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    26,408
    Trophy Points:
    357
    Location:
    Moxxi's Bar
    Likes:
    +432
    To me, depends on how many bots there are, because you've got all the component robots and then the actual combiner. Example: I count the Armada Street Action team (High Wire, Grindor, and Sureshock a.k.a. the mini-cons the kids all rode around on) as four because they can combine into the small-scale combiner Perceptor. While I don't actually keep any of my combiners "combined" when on display (easier to take the individual robots out as opposed to the whole combiner), I still list the combiners in my collection list.

    The only exceptions to this rule are the instances where robots combined but did not adopt new mentalities, which more or less amount to pretty much all of the Autobot combining in Energon and Omega Prime. ROTF Devestator, to me, counts as eight bots regardless of what the movie shows (the Legends figure has the seven legends class constructicons plus Devestator himself, so that's eight)

    As for "hard-to-classify" combining robots like Reflector, I consider THAT group to just be a group of three robots who turn into the "Reflector" camera. Same logic goes into the Armada Mini-con weapons.
     
  11. Autoclot

    Autoclot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    1,094
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +39
    If I'm counting toys, combiners are counted as the individual members, not the gestalt, since it's the individual members I'd have to replace if anything happened to them. If I'm counting characters, I count the members and the gestalt.
     
  12. Scantron

    Scantron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,249
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +3
    - Combiners - Each component counted separately, the combined form not counted, since it's simply the sum of the component parts. Exception - RotF Supreme Devastator, since the individual pieces don't transform.
    - Minicons/Micromasters - Each counted separately, even if they were released in a multi-pack.
    - [x]masters - Main robot and partner counted together, since the partners were more of an accessory than intended as a separate toy in their own right.
     
  13. mrclean08

    mrclean08 G1 FOR LIFE

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Posts:
    1,407
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    I count each robot separately.
     
  14. grimlock1972

    grimlock1972 "No Mas" My Wallet

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    18,198
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +59
    Thats how i do it as well.
     
  15. MidnightBliss

    MidnightBliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Posts:
    4,131
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    The combined bot doesn't get counted.

    Animated Jetfire +1
    Animated Jetstorm +1
    Animated Safeguard +0
    -------------------------

    2 bots total
     
  16. Tigertrack

    Tigertrack Back In The Game!

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7,054
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Thanks for the inputs guys. What about somebody like Skylinx who is two separate entities, but one character? Oh wait never mind. I guess with him you really can't have one without the other. But, then again, two separate pieces?
    I was also wondering about the Xmasters, but you already answered that. It does prove to be an interesting question doesn't it?
     
  17. lord ginrai

    lord ginrai Beastie lover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Posts:
    2,382
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Osaka
    Likes:
    +204
    This is how I count too, makes the most sense to me.
    I Also don't count statues and pvc's.
     
  18. TJOmega

    TJOmega The Plastic Addict Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    5,658
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +6
    For me it depends on character and independence. By that I mean things like Sky Lynx that form one character would be one toy. Things like combiners are five toys with a combined robot, so five counted because the combined mode isn't independent, it relies on the others. Targetmasters count as two, since both figures can perform the same whether they're together or apart, but not Headmasters since neither component is a complete toy on it's own.
     
  19. Nez Pierce

    Nez Pierce @evildanish

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,922
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Likes:
    +9
    Agreed on this end...although I do count Robot Heroes and 3 inch titaniums individually as items in my collection.
     
  20. King Henrik

    King Henrik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    644
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +3
    i do it this way too. i do count pvcs, statues/busts and 3rd party figures as well.
     

Share This Page