Continuity Clarification?

Discussion in 'Transformers Cyberverse and Cartoon Discussion' started by Mark McCann, Mar 27, 2018.

1. Mark McCann

Mark McCann New Member

Facebook:
    Hi there, I'm relatively new to TF.

Came in via the IDW's Robots in Disguise after meeting James Roberts, and read his & John Barbers runs, then played through the Fall of Cybertron and Rise of the Dark Spark games on PS4, along with the G1 inspired Devastation. Then I went back and watched G1 (I hadn't seen it since childhood,) and from what I can understand, the G1 continuity that ran in line with the Marvel comics has been changed to fit around a new continuity. But where did that begin?

I know TF has loads of different continuity strands from Dreamwave, to Armada to the Bayverse, but how do you tell what it mostly canonical and what isn't? it can all be a bit confusing. I started collecting the action figures, and again their box profiles often differ from the versions of the characters I'd known. Skyshadow for instance.

2. Collectotron

Collectotron Let’s just say i’m a bit of a Brawn enthusiast

News Credits:
    Instagram:
    YouTube:
    Okay I'll try and explain this as good as I can.

the g1 continuity consists of the g1 cartoon , the g1 movie ,beast wars and beast machines .

Rid 2001 is just a standalone cartoon .

The unicron trilogy continuity consists of armada,energon and cybertron.

Animated is a standalone cartoon.

The bayverse continuity only has the movies It does have a lot of tie in material such as the comics ,novelisations,the cyber mission cartoon and the game adaptions but they aren't canon

The IDW comics aren't connected to anything else

The aligned continuity consists of the exodus novels , war for cybertron game, fall of cybertron game , transformers prime cartoon & rid 2015 cartoon

The combiner wars & titans return cartoon aren't connected to anything else the sequel power of the primes will be out late this year though