comp question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cloud Strife, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. Cloud Strife

    Cloud Strife 01000011 01000101 0101010

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,178
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    i just bought a new video card, (upgrading from a gforce 4 mx420 to a gforce xfx 6800) and i am new to my own comp repairs and before i open up my comp and scew something up, i know i'm going to have to flip the switch to change from a 4x card to an 8x. where would that switch be located?
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Are you talking AGP speed? There is no switch, it's set in software (usually). No action should be required, but to be safe you should see if there is a setting in your machine's BIOS.
     
  3. Cloud Strife

    Cloud Strife 01000011 01000101 0101010

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,178
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    yes it's AGP. i tried it a min ago and when i did everything booted up correctly and i started to install the drivers and it said something about window's compatability? it may not work if i continue, so i quicly powered down and put in my old card.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2007
  4. cobra zartan

    cobra zartan Think's He's a Detective.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Posts:
    6,343
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +19
    just hit continue and you will be fine
     
  5. Cloud Strife

    Cloud Strife 01000011 01000101 0101010

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,178
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    ok, i'll try that later on tonight, i didn't know for sure, and i'd rather be safe then sorry

    EDIT: everything seems to be working fine, thanx guys!
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2007
  6. ShortCircuit

    ShortCircuit Decepticon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    1,698
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    ya the setting would be in your bios, but i believe even if you match the setting for 8x it wouldnt matter.
     
  7. Drake

    Drake Smooth Is Smooth Baby

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,205
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    Make sure you remove the old video card drivers before you install new ones.
     

Share This Page