Customs: Commissioned Kitbashers..Question for you.

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by SamiWCP, Apr 11, 2007.

1. SamiWCP

SamiWCP Guest

For a little while now, I've been working on custom repaints for people on here. I am new to it, and haven't ever really asked anyone on how they go about it, with charging etc...But apparently I've been doing it wrong.

I usually go by the price of the figure I'll need ot purchase. I add in 10$ for supplies, paint and brushes and tape (which usually comes up to more then 10$) then the price of shipping, 5$ for smaller figures, and 10$ for larger. Then there is the labor cost. I'll usually just charge between 10-15$ for labor. There doesn't seem to be anything on the whole "minimum wage" of kitbashing. What's a good going rate? People have seemed to like my work, I've had no complaints, I turn them around in pretty decent time, and I can say I've gotten better with each one I do.

Now I've had a few people ask me about the ones I've done, yet whenever I mention the price, they go away. I can't really go any cheaper. What do you guys all do then? What's a good labor price? Go by hour, or just by total labor job rounded off to a certain price?

Any info and or advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. bigkid24

bigkid24 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I'm not a customizer but I've asked around and prices are usually a flat fee. I think you have to take into account the complexity of the project and balance that with how valuable your own time is to you.

From the repaints I've seen from you and your quick turn around the price structure you've laid out seems more than fair. If people are running out on you after you quote them a price then they aren't taking into account the labor. I assume they are just looking at the price and what they are ultimately getting in return.

3. Keiichitron

Keiichitron Not a physicist, dammit

Ebay: