Customs: Commission Etiquette: Communication and Duration

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by supervir2, Mar 5, 2011.

1. supervir2

supervir2 Feels like the kid in Big everyday.

News Credits:
    Hi guys! I've spoken with several of you and commissioned pieces from several of you. This post draws from some of those experiences and ultimately asks what your feelings are regarding communication between radicons/customers and the duration of time a project should take. Also, any advice on how to handle a situation when a radicon doesn't meet up with those expectations.

(note: I am leaving out all names and hope you all do the same. This isn't intended as a platform to chastise OR reward particular radicons...rather, it is meant to see if there are general expectations and feelings on certain issues)

I've been commissioning custom TF's for about 2 years now. In that span I've dealt with 14 different radicons on a good 30+ items and am about to get projects underway with 2-3 more. The artists range from the well-known to some of the lesser-known and the projects have ranged in cost from less than on hundred dollars to a couple thousand dollars. One universal across all of these transactions is that the artist has taken longer than anticipated to finish the project. I've had a project finish less than a month after it started and I've got one project that is 2 years old now. Yes, two years old! Further, I've dealt with radicons that communicate VERY well, always responding in a timely manner and often with pictures/update. At the same time, some of them have disappeared from months on end. So far, they've returned and resumed patchy communication, but it is harrowing to say the least.