Comcast not getting Hub network?

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by Fairlady_Z, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Fairlady_Z

    Fairlady_Z Official Voice of Flareup

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,865
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +1
    So I called my cable provider (Comcast) today to see how much it would be to upgrade my cable to whatever package included the new Hub Network. The customer service rep on the phone had no idea what I was talking about. Even after I explained what it was and she managed to find a reference to it she then explained that Comcast still had no plans to carry Hub Network come 10/10/10. So I put in a request that Comcast should get the Hub Network, but sadly that was all I could do.

    I feel really bummed. Has anyone else yet tried to see if their cable provider will carry Hub Network yet? Has anyone else heard a different story from Comcast specifically? Could Comcast still change their minds if they get enough requests for Hub, and pick it up with a month still left to go before Hub is on the air? And if you can't get Hub Network, how do you plan to watch TF: Prime? Do you think Hasbro will put the episodes on their website or somethin? (I'll get DVDs, but we all now how TFA season three never even came out, I don't want to get slighted again.) I want to be able to watch the new TF and G.I. Joe shows!
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010
  2. MrSoundwaveGuy

    MrSoundwaveGuy I've made a huge mistake

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,636
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +3
    I have Comcast and have Discovery Kid's, so I assume I'm getting the Hub. Do you get Discovery Kid's?
     
  3. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,467
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
  4. Fairlady_Z

    Fairlady_Z Official Voice of Flareup

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,865
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +1
    I used to. I downgraded my cable to basic when I got married. I spefically asked if the Hub was included is some type of Discovery Kids package. As I said, the lady said she had never heard of the the Hub and that they had no plans to carry it.

    I don't have a Twitter account. But if someone who is on Twitter and has Comcast wants to ask, I would be greatful to hear the answer they get.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010
  5. Thundershot

    Thundershot The guy with 28 Sweeps

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    20,891
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +68
    Ebay:
    The thing is, if Comcast carries Discover Kids at all, it'll become The Hub as of 10/10/10. No different really than Sci-Fi changing to Syfy except this time there'll actually be some programming changes. Chances are the providers just don't have a clue. I have Time Warner, and DC/Hub is part of the $5 tier I pay so I can have BBCAmerica.
     
  6. Fairlady_Z

    Fairlady_Z Official Voice of Flareup

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,865
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +1
    Hmmm, interesting. If the answer really is that simple, that Discovery Kids is changing their name to Hub, it's good to know.
     
  7. MTME

    MTME Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    11,061
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    217
    Likes:
    +14
    I think you got a a cable service agent that didn't know anything......it happens.
     
  8. Ceasar121

    Ceasar121 Wants a Toxitron repaint!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    2,887
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +1
    Most of the people you get on the phone are reading off a sheet. The likelihood of her knowing that Discovery Kids is changing it's name is about as likely as finding a MISB Fort Max for under 500 dollars.

    Also, since it's just a name change (and not on the level of something like ESPN or NFL Network), it's even less likely that she'd know about it. I doubt that Discovery Kids is really a big selling point, so changes to it wouldn't be a big issue.
     
  9. Fairlady_Z

    Fairlady_Z Official Voice of Flareup

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,865
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +1
    Yeah, looks like the lady I talked to was just clueless. Just need to request Discovery Kids now.
     
  10. perithimus

    perithimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Posts:
    2,289
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Likes:
    +0

    Not exactly. Most of the time changes like this are not told to front line employees until the last minute. So unless they are actively searching out the info, most of them would not know until they are informed. Can't really blame them for that.
     
  11. grimlock1972

    grimlock1972 "No Mas" My Wallet

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    18,044
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Likes:
    +16
    THis the woman either had no clue or could not be bothered to try to look it up.
     
  12. GBglide

    GBglide Furst Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Posts:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    121
    Likes:
    +0
    Discovery Kids is turning into The Hub? *Waits for episode of Kenny the Shark with Sky Byte in it.* :D 
     
  13. grimlock1972

    grimlock1972 "No Mas" My Wallet

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    18,044
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Likes:
    +16
    :lolol 
     
  14. Spekkio

    Spekkio Master of War

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,306
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +0
    Speaking from experience - don't be too hard on customer service representatives. Sure, some are twits, but on the whole - overworked, underpaid, uninformed. You have to try to get through contacts (i.e. phone calls) as fast as possible. It's an ugly, ugly business.
     

Share This Page