Collecting in College?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by TedimusPrime, Jun 11, 2012.

1. TedimusPrime

TedimusPrime Part Time Toy Designer

Well I graduated. I'm off to the University of Cincinnati for their DAAP program where, in my second year there, I'll have a high chance to work with Hasbro or, if not, Fisher Price, Spinmasters, or Tomy. Yes, I aim to be a toy designer.

This is kinda aimed at college goers that are currently collectors. What did you do? Did you bring anything from home? Did you keep any of your stuff in your dorm and how much? How did you get to stores? Did you just ship online? How did your hobby go over with your roomate? How did you manage to fund your collection?

Just general things like that.

2. strangeguy32000

strangeguy32000 Well-Known Member

Well, considering you'll be sharing quarters with other people, I'd suggest only taking figures that are Easily Replaceable.

3. Stygian360

Stygian360 Well-Known Member

Having been formerly in college and or in a 'dorm-like' situation more than once, I can confirm that you should probably keep the toys to a bare minimum. That is unless you don't mind endless cajoling about how you still play with toys as an adult and/or have no probs with your fellow students picking up your toys and farting around with them. Many collectors (like myself) get kind of fidgety about others touching their stuff when uninvited to do so, and many college kids could care less about respecting another's things. They consider anything put out as handleable and therefore play-with-able. Lastly, if you're cool with the possible social shunning you may receive from the opposite sex for having various toys littering your study room space, then again, go for it.