Customs: Clear Coating Tutorial?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by RavX, Feb 17, 2009.

1. RavX

RavX Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    Hi Radicons,

My apologies if this is the wrong place for this -- I know there used to be a "requests" subform but I no longer see it under the new setup. Please feel free to move the thread ....

Let me preface everything by saying I looked through the Table of Contents and didn't see anything on specifically clearcoating and that I am a complete novice when it comes to doing any sort of clear coat/mods to my toys.

I recently tried to clearcoat the "sticky paint" issue on my Classics 2.0 Silverstreak's doors and ended up making the issues 100x worse than it was. The clear coat (Kryon's Matte Finish) I used ended up either 1) eating the paint away or 2) making existing blemishes not previously apparent to the eye stand out. I am leaning toward #1 as I probably did something wrong (ie. too many passes of coat ... too close when spraying, .. or something along those lines) in the process, and such the doors are pretty hideous now.

I'm going to probably end up rolling the dice and trying to purchase another Silverstreak (and hoping for no sticky paint) but wanted to know if anyone had a video or written tutorial on how to clear coat correctly in case I have to attempt it again? I know it is probably trivial based on everything else you guys do but I think it would be great for those of us who have no experience doing even simplistic "mods" like that.

In addition if there is an easy way to "fix" the doors I would be open to that as well, but given the fact I can't even seem to do a clear coat right I am not holding my breath! :eek: 

Anyway - I'd appreciate any guidance or explanations to what I did wrong .. or if there is a tutorial in existence that would be awesome as well. Thanks guys!

2. Superquad7

Superquad7 We're only human. Super Mod

News Credits: