Heavy/Scratch: Classics Metroplex WIP

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by batmanprime, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. batmanprime

    batmanprime Omega-con

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,059
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Likes:
    +99
    Ebay:
    UPDATE ON PAGE 2


    Well crap. As I was getting ready to start this thread I saw Spoonman's. Makes mine look like junk.

    Still have alot of armor to place, and build Scamper, and the boys, but hey, even if it is crap, I'm learning. Never tried one this big before. The towers could be a problem, the parts are pretty pricey.

    Has knees, hips, elbows, wrists and shoulders.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 15, 2012
  2. spoonman

    spoonman Kitbasher extrordinaire!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2,046
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Likes:
    +24
    Ah, stop dude, this is coming out solidly so far. I certainly wouldn't call it crap. Plus if you're still learing, like you say, I think it's a pretty damn good start!
     
  3. batmanprime

    batmanprime Omega-con

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,059
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Likes:
    +99
    Ebay:
    It's only crap when compared to yours. I bow before a master.
     
  4. beangrower

    beangrower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Posts:
    1,567
    Trophy Points:
    141
    Likes:
    +0
    I was gonna do this with my unicorn. Now I can just watch how urs comes out. Looks good so far. I caved in n bought a cybertron metroplex to build on.
     
  5. G60Force

    G60Force World Smallest Mini-Con

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Posts:
    7,975
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +10
    Ebay:
    yup kewl really advice maybe 2 use cyb metroplex legs as arms.. or jest primus arms?
     
  6. shinobi77

    shinobi77 Fatbastard

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    1,236
    Trophy Points:
    182
    Likes:
    +4
    Ebay:
    Yeah, I'd say use the primus arms with the arm cannons. I have been wanting to do this for ages, just haven't been able to find a metroplex, and really don't want to destroy my reissue.
     
  7. Deadgame1

    Deadgame1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Posts:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    No way man this is looking good. I picked up a unicron and was thinking wtf can i do with this guy. I dont really care for him honestly( let the flaming commence!lol) price was right figure was whole except for the batwings and spheres. Yours is looking pretty good.
     
  8. jame5y

    jame5y Till All Are One..In the UK Thread

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,801
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +2,438
    Shame dude on eBay here in uk they're stocked full of cheap metros :( 
     
  9. spoonman

    spoonman Kitbasher extrordinaire!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2,046
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Likes:
    +24
    No way man. Different yes but not crap in any way. There are a few out there that make mine look like it was made by a monkey. There's always something better and there's always something lesser but either way, they are ours.
     
  10. Angelus

    Angelus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    Oh, Unicron it's you.
     
  11. batmanprime

    batmanprime Omega-con

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,059
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Likes:
    +99
    Ebay:
    Hey thanks for the comments and advice everyone. Any suggestiond on where to get building looking pannels to cammoflage the arms with and make extra towers out of?
     
  12. spoonman

    spoonman Kitbasher extrordinaire!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2,046
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Likes:
    +24
    There are literally TONS of items you can use for that. Circuit boards from old electronics like remote controls and vcrs, military model kits, styrene comes in textured sheets like riveted panels. Just look around your house and use anything you can think of. I use anything I can get my hands on. My Metroplex has flooring shims on it!
     
  13. batmanprime

    batmanprime Omega-con

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,059
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Likes:
    +99
    Ebay:
    Update

    Made some progress, not much but a litle.
    Most of what is left will be pannelling and gap filling.
    I plan to use a modded Armada Dualor to be Slammer, and a modded Clocker for Scamper. Although, for size I may use a RID spy changer. Opinions?
    I'm trying to think G1 with some upgrades, weapons and other parts are getting pricy so they'll come slowly. (knee caps etc.) But for the 3d tower I figured I'd go a little different. I remember one main storyline issue for the big guys was always power. So, I gave Metro a nuclear power plant. Not just that but one that can be removed and used as a weapon.
    In my mind, the Autobots found a way to using nuclear power, generate stable Nucleon. It doesn't quite have the kick of the original stuff, but it's plentiful and has no negative side effects.
    Anyway, here are some pics. Bear in mind this is a WIP, but C&C is appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. batmanprime

    batmanprime Omega-con

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,059
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Likes:
    +99
    Ebay:
    I need help deciding. Do I paint the big guy white or a light gray?
     
  15. Kenjo_Cybertron

    Kenjo_Cybertron Stalk him, tear him apart

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Posts:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Its gotta be light gray, then you can do white highlights and darker shading/washes.

    You have made some great progress here, I have most of those parts laying around too........
     

Share This Page