Classic Consoles on HDTV

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by BigRC83, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. BigRC83

    BigRC83 I'm singing in the rain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,579
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +9
  2. excelhedge

    excelhedge Overseer of Weird

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    4,561
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    187
    Likes:
    +67
    I don't think'll it make much difference since all Previous-gen systems are putting "Standard-def" signal to the TV. Buy the cheaper of the two.

    For High-def "classic" games I suggest Xbox Live or PSN.
     
  3. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,808
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Likes:
    +28
    They're probably going to look like a blurry mess. I've got a 20 inch samsung LCD TV, and even the Wii connected via component cables is a pain to look at.

    I keep a 20 inch SD TV on hand for non-HD consoles.
     
  4. bignick1693

    bignick1693 Maximal

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    9,247
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +216
    My ps2 does not go in full screen so it still looks good on my tv but I don't know if it the system or my tv. I use vizio. I think my n64 does the same thing too on the tv. I also use standard cables that came with the system.
     
  5. Tigertrack

    Tigertrack Back In The Game!

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7,051
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +3
    I'd be interested to see how the old, old Atari games would look on the big 55incher.
     
  6. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,474
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I've attempted to hook up 8-bit and 16-bit systems to HDTV's via various methods. Unfortunately, they just aren't made for each other. Always blurry or jumpy.
     
  7. Eric

    Eric Per sempre marciamo.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Posts:
    24,712
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    342
    Location:
    Ohio
    Likes:
    +234
    One time I tried to hook up an N64 to my HDTV. It worked...but it was in black and white.

    :( 
     
  8. Starfire22

    Starfire22 Zoot Suit Riot

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    12,028
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    The middle of America.
    Likes:
    +926
    A bloody mess I'd imagine. (As a certain Angry nerd said, the only true way to play atari is on an old shitty TV)
     
  9. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,792
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +22
    I've never had any trouble hooking up a classic console that at least had RCA connections to an HDTV, but they always looked like crap once they were hooked up.
     
  10. Kuma Style

    Kuma Style Toy Photography TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Posts:
    24,929
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    387
    Likes:
    +4,237
    I have a ton of old school systems, and a 70" plasma. They look liek total garbage. So, what I did, was hook up my PC via VGA and use emulators. That way I can use a current gen controller and have the games rendered at a real-time 1080p.

    Eff all of that.
     
  11. Ribieconvoy

    Ribieconvoy It's pronounced "ribby"

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    6,190
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +280
    I have a 60 inch TV at home, although it's from like '97 so it's not HD. We added an HD TV to our house recently, albeit smaller, and it seems grainier in general, not just when playing games. So I'd say try to get an older TV if you want to play older games.
     
  12. DeathAnghell

    DeathAnghell Beast Wars!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Likes:
    +0
    I play my Nintendo 64, Sega Saturn, and PS1 games on my 32 inch Samsung LCD HDTV and it looks alright. A good tube TV would look better, but it doesn't look that bad on my TV.

    I keep an extra Samsung 20 inch CRT TV in my closet and everything looks great on that. Running an emulator on a PC through an HDTV is a good idea too.
     
  13. DethPike

    DethPike Master of Sinanju

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    3,558
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Question - ive wanted to do this but even though I have a VGA input on my tv nothing shows up. I've got a 50" Panasonic v10 plasma - did you need a special cable or something? I just tried using a VGA cable direct from my videocard on the pc.
     
  14. Cracka J

    Cracka J TURD PARTY DUMPSTERPIECE TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Posts:
    10,713
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    307
    Likes:
    +541
    I don't think you have to do anything special, just vga to vga cable. Your pc should see the tv as just another monitor.

    Dumb question, but did you have your tv set to the vga input channel? There should be a separate channel for it just like the hdmi, component, or av input channels. Make sure the pin connections are secure and you should be good to go.
     
  15. DethPike

    DethPike Master of Sinanju

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    3,558
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Yeah I did, but in all honesty I didn't spend too much time fiddling with it - everything else seems good though and I now wonder if maybe the cable I got just sucks. I'll give it another go.
     
  16. Kuma Style

    Kuma Style Toy Photography TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Posts:
    24,929
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    387
    Likes:
    +4,237
    You don't need anything special at all. It **should** just pick up immediately once it's all plugged in.

    One thing I will tell you though is to look on your VGA cable and make sure all of the pins are there. Different monitors need different amounts of pins to show on the screen. I learned this when I tried hooking my Dreamcast up throgh the VGA adapter, and nothing would show, but after I noticed some of the pins were missing, I replaced it with a compleete cable and it worked. And, the same cable without the pins had been used and working on ym computer monitor for years.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  17. DethPike

    DethPike Master of Sinanju

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    3,558
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    THAT could be it - I haven't looked at it lately but I know it wasnt the most expensive cable in the world or anything - wouldn't surprise me to find it missing pins - I'll check it out, go for a better quality one maybe anyway, and go from there. thanks!
     
  18. Eric

    Eric Per sempre marciamo.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Posts:
    24,712
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    342
    Location:
    Ohio
    Likes:
    +234
    I've been thinking of getting an N64 (again, regretted selling the last one I had), and I was wondering: would an S-video cable work on an HDTV?
     
  19. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,474
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    It will hook up (so long as the TV has an s-video input). However, it will likely look blurry and really bad.
     
  20. Cracka J

    Cracka J TURD PARTY DUMPSTERPIECE TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Posts:
    10,713
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    307
    Likes:
    +541
    You can get a component cable for gamecube and it should be much better then s-video quality. I say gamecube cause it should be easier to obtain and the video outs for gc, n64 and snes are the identical port (I use gc component cables with my snes).
     

Share This Page