City Commander Question

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Mechafire, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    Heyo,

    I finally got around to unpacking my City Commander a little while ago. Quite an amazing set, I must say. Was not expecting it to be this epic.

    But anyway, there is only one problem so far. In robot mode, on the back of the shoulder pieces, the flap pieces are insanely loose; there's literally no friction going on in the pin-socket mechanism.

    Does anyone else have this issue, or is it just my ludicrously bad luck striking again?

    (And yes, I did look through the feedback threads, but I saw no mention of this.)

    Thanks.
     
  2. Squall42080

    Squall42080 Autobot RSX Type-S

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Posts:
    4,514
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Mine are like that on both the original City Commander and the D.I.A. Commander set...I just put Classics Magnus' guns there which holds the panels in place.

    You could attempt to brush some clear nail polish or crazy glue between the connection to add some depth for friction...but keep the piece moving until it dries to avoid damage!
     
  3. x BlackMagnus x

    x BlackMagnus x Is not impressed

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Posts:
    10,458
    News Credits:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +104
    Shadow Commander has it too.:( 
     
  4. Batman

    Batman The Dark Knight TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    11,554
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +15
    Ebay:
    Mine are pretty tight, I have the first run of CC. I have heard of other people having that problem though, I guess it is luck of the draw.
     
  5. brr-icy

    brr-icy G1 Collector

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    15,699
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +154
    Ebay:
    on my TFCon commander they are loose, but my original run city commander is ok
     
  6. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    Yay, I'm not the only one with a QC issue for once! Thanks.
     
  7. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,733
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +167
    Ebay:
    It's hit or miss. Only my Shadow Commander has super loose shoulder flaps.
     
  8. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    Alright! Just tried putting the guns in his shoulders. The white one on his left arm went in no problem, but I can't get the black gun in his right arm. It refuses to go in. It's almost like the square peg is too small.

    I'm starting to think this second run has a bit of mold degradation. : /
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2009
  9. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,733
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +167
    Ebay:
    The black gun always took a little effort to get in -- a firm push is all it should take.
     
  10. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    Well, I finally managed to force it in. The add-on missile launchers aren't that secure, too, but I know a lot of people have that problem.

    This thing looks absolutely beautiful, but I'm a bit disappointed in the quality control area.
     
  11. Squall42080

    Squall42080 Autobot RSX Type-S

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Posts:
    4,514
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Now to score a TAW Sword! I scored one for Christmas, and suprisingly, the shield portions can still be used by Magnus in the City Commander armor...and so can the flight pack with a little effort (and of course the small sword or the big sword configuration).

    My launchers aren't too secure either (but I have the original CC)...and only now did I realize the missiles actually come out of the housing!
     

Share This Page