Customs: Choosing the best colors for Movie Customs

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Rogzilla, Aug 21, 2009.

1. Rogzilla

Rogzilla Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I apologize in advance as I wish to give a little backstore. You may skip to the bolded if you want.

OK, so I am still pretty new to this whole customizing/repainting this. So far, I have only done experiements with things like my First Strike Prime and Protoform Prime, repainting them and really making them my own.

So far, I have been using Testors Acrylic. At first, when I was just trying it out, I was using a kit I got at a Fred Meyers for $22 that came with a bunch of smaller paint jars, some sand paper, a hobby knife, cemenet, ect. It is not a bad set but they are not the nicest acrylics I have ever used. However, they worked for the experiment and I had a blast doing it.

Next, I found a local hobby store that had Testors Model Masters, Gamer Workshops, and Tamiya paints. I picked up some metallic colors and went to town on my Protoform. Boy howdy, did it make a difference in the feel of the character, as well as quality.

Well, I am ready for the big trip. This weekend I am going down to my local hobby store and I am going to buy the HELL out of the paints, get nicer brushes, etc. I do, however, have a budget to keep in mind so I can't pick up EVERYTHING.

For repainting movie toys, what is your regular pallette? What colors do you use for what characters?

I current have/use Testors Model Masters:
    Gloss black
    Aluminum
    Steel
    Rust
    Brass
    Jet Exhaust
    Gunship
    (Did not include the colors I got in the set as I do not plan on using them much except on smaller peices or for mixing colors).