Change the batteries on your smoke/carbon monoxide alarm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sonscreen, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. Sonscreen

    Sonscreen Casual TF collector<br><b><font color=#FF0000>aksm TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    5,610
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    Hey folks. What a crazy night. I came home to see a manhole cover near my home on fire. There was a lot of confusion, the firefighters first thought that a transformer (the irony) blew out. Then a Con Ed (local utility) worker said they had to turn off the electricity /gas because some of the wires were to close to the gas lines! I had to evacuate my family to an Aunt’s house. Thank goodness she was home. We are somewhat lucky, my next door neighbor had a lot of carbon monoxide in their house.

    Some of my neighbors (and my family) still don’t have electricity /heat as the crews are still working on this 8 hours later. Thank goodness no one was hurt or inhaled too much carbon monoxide.

    Sorry for this rambling mess of a post but I just I thought this would be a good time to remind people to replace the batteries in their smoke/carbon monoxide alarm. It’s a good thing we had one on each floor as one of them went dead.
     
  2. Foster

    Foster Super Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Posts:
    32,058
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +11
    My smoke alarm went to shit one day and beeped every 30 seconds. I took the battery out, disconnected it from the wall, still with the goddamn BEEPBEEPBEEP. I finally tossed it in my car's trunk so I could sleep until Home Depot opened the next day.

    Glad you're all right.
     
  3. Team Jetfire

    Team Jetfire Pop-POP!

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    5,887
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +13
    Holy crap, glad to see that every one is fine.

    ***goes to store for batteries***
     
  4. Bryan

    Bryan ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Posts:
    9,020
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    I always use Daylight Savings Time as a built-in reminder for those kinds of semiannual checks that you forget otherwise

    But I can't recall if all our int'l brethren have DST.
     
  5. Aaron

    Aaron Master of Crystalocution Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    21,680
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    307
    Likes:
    +1
    Twitter:
    That's the method I use.
     
  6. Foster

    Foster Super Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Posts:
    32,058
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +11
    I'd use the equinox and solstice, but I'm no dirty hippy.
     
  7. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,583
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Glad you're ok!
     
  8. rattrap007

    rattrap007 Insert witty comment here TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Posts:
    14,878
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Likes:
    +36
    I'm busy.. you change them for me....

    Glad to hear you are ok though.
     
  9. Sonscreen

    Sonscreen Casual TF collector<br><b><font color=#FF0000>aksm TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    5,610
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    Thanks guys. We finally have electricity and heat again. Boy did I ever count my blessings today.
     

Share This Page