CGI Question

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by Ren, May 21, 2007.

  1. Ren

    Ren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Likes:
    +0
    Does anyone know what ILM uses to create their CGI? Is it something they created inhouse or is it something commercially avaliable?
     
  2. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    I know that ILM does use a fair amount of proprietary apps that they design themselves, but they also use whatever will get the job done (Lightwave, Maya, 3DS Max, whatever does the job). Basically, you're most likely looking at a fairly large amount of apps to do what they do.
     
  3. Cuillere

    Cuillere French Fries

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Likes:
    +10
  4. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
  5. Ren

    Ren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Likes:
    +0
    It would make sense that they use several apps and some in-house stuff. I can't imagine what hardware they run to do all the heavy CGI apps.
     
  6. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    I'm sure they do some crazy networked render farms.
     
  7. Paper Mariowned

    Paper Mariowned Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Wonder how long it took them to make Optimus alone..yeesh
     
  8. Turnpike

    Turnpike Brawl is my bee-otch

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    632
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    I do not want to imagine how hard it is to model a complete figure like Prime @_@..
    Those poor modelers.. Carpel Tunnel Syndrome ahoy!
     
  9. frosthsky

    frosthsky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Posts:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Likes:
    +0
    Prime? What about Ironhide? In an interview they stated that Ironhide's canons had more parts than some of the other Autobots.
     
  10. WheatiesBoy

    WheatiesBoy Destroyer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Posts:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    thats...scary. lol
     

Share This Page