Cant close the pop-up pic window

Discussion in 'TFW2005 Tech Support' started by Sy-Rein, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    Hey guys, I cant seem to get any of the new pop-up pic windows to close. No matter how many times I click the X in the corner, the window will stay there until I close the Tab in Windows Explorer.
     
  2. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    What version of IE are you using?
     
  3. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    Sorry, ya, it's IE 9.0 with windows vista home basic.
     
  4. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Will look into it
     
  5. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    I just tested it in IE 6-9, and it functioned in all of them. Clicking outside the image area, and, clicking the x in corner. However, I am on win7. That shouldn't make a difference, tho not 100% sure on that.

    To try and further troubleshoot, can you answer these questions?

    Does it happen on all news stories, or just a particular one?

    Does it happen in Resources and/or Comics as well?

    Does it happen on HissTank.com or Toyark.com news stories too?

    If you go to Tools -> Compatibility View Settings and enter TFW2005.com -> does it work then?
     
  6. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    It doesnt seem to happen with the news stories where the pic pops up in the middle of the screen.

    It does seem to happen in the customs and artwork sections where the pics pop up in the top left corner of the screen.

    It does not happen on HISS Tank unless, as above the pic pops up in the top left corner.

    I cant find that Compatibility View option in my IE9 so I cant test that.
     
  7. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Ahh, thats a different area, the forum pop up is default to the software we use, haven't changed that recently. But, I didn't check that in my tests so will do soon as I can and let you know.
     
  8. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    OK, I just checked the forum pop up functionality on IE5-9, and it worked on them all. None opened to the top left as you described.

    Could you link me to a specific page where you are having this issue?
     
  9. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    I will do so when I'm in my comp later today (on my iPod now and don't have the issue).
     
  10. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
  11. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    I just took a look at this thread while I'm on lunch at work here and I have no problems with the pics. They pop up inthe middle of the screen and can be closed via the X inthe corner.

    So I assume it is solely a Windows Vista/Internet Explorer 9 issue. (i'm on Win7/IE9 here at work).
     
  12. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Odd, works on all versions of IE9, Firefox and Chrome I've tested on (IE5 - IE9).

    I can't reproduce it or find anyone else talking about it. I will keep looking.

    If possible, could you check this page: 12" Shogun Ranger Light figure images - Toku Discussion at Tokunation.com

    And see if it works for you there?

    And, if possible, what resolution is your monitor set at?
     
  13. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    I'll check next time I'm on my computer. It's not that big of a deal, more of an annoyance. It seems just that one combination that's on my personal laptop.
     
  14. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    Those pics in that link do the same thing as the Dinocassette link where they pop up in top left corner and cannot be closed.

    My monitor is set at 1366x768 (on a laptop).
     
  15. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
  16. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    The forums and front page use different pop up systems. You seem to have a problem with the forum based one.

    I still have not been able to reproduce or find others discussing similar issues.
     
  17. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    OK, no worries. I'm guessing it's just this combination of the Vista and IE9. I"m pretty sure this didnt happen before when I was using IE8 on the this same system.
     
  18. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +760
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Try putting it into Compatibility Mode.

    Right click on the blank area next to the tabs and choose "Command Bar".

    Then, when that bar is visible, browse to TFW2005 (or any site with problem), go to Tools -> Compatibility View Settings

    Add the site, refresh. Check.

    Not sure if it will help, but worth a shot. I'm thinking it has to be Vista too, because it's the one variable I can't test.
     
  19. Sy-Rein

    Sy-Rein Rogue Stunticon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Posts:
    4,594
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    Likes:
    +179
    Compatibility Mode does not appear to make a difference.
     

Share This Page