Can someone please explain why...

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by juise, Sep 7, 2008.

1. juise

juise TFW2005 Token Negro

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Toy manufactures create a false demand for certain toys? I say false because they do it by producing limited numbers of certain figures. I'm relatively new to the concept of collecting, and this just baffles me! I know they cant all be winners. Making sure you don't saturate demand is key for any retail market, but this is something different.

Animated Blitzwing is a prime example. He was a 1 per case figure, and almost impossible to find until now. Hasbro doesn't make any more on him via this method. If something is valuable in the re-sell market, this does nothing for the manufacture. Is this some kind of consumer conditioning? Training us to buy the first time we see something cause we may never see it on the shelf again?

Enlighten me

2. MegaHavok

MegaHavok Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    there is no false demand, you are just impatient. Back before the days of the internet you didnt know something was for sale till you saw it in stores. Now cuz of a sighting or two on the other side of the country fans get pissed off they cant find it in stores. Also due to crazy or wealthy fans buying early release versions of toys months in advance and posting reviews scalpers know who you will look for. In the case of Blitzwing, he is also being held up on lower then expected sales of voyager prime and megatron who are clogging shelves around here. It was a bad idea to release them and their leader counter parts so close together