Can/should I install XP over Vista?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Prowl, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    Will it harm my Laptop in anyway?
     
  2. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    Yes you can, and it probably won't.
     
  3. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    Thanks man, I am having SO many issues with Vista. From After Effects not working to this new copy of Neverwinter Nights having issues, to my Laptop's screensaver not working, and I have my old copy of XP, so I just wanted to see if it might cause issues.
     
  4. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    Yeah, Vista... Let's just say... Well, it sucks, IMHO. I would either install XP or wait for W7.
     
  5. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,935
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +39
    You will have install XP Fresh, there is no way to "Downgrade" to XP. I strongly recommend that you download all the needed XP Drivers first.
     
  6. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,704
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +3
    WAIT!

    There is no definitive "yes" here for any and all laptops.
    You can format a partition and then dual-boot or you will have to format and install XP clean.

    But some new laptops were made with Vista in mind and the XP drivers for certain devices may be very hard to find. In other words, XP won't just go out and find all the drivers you need.

    Also, your retailer may have some way of handling the 'XP Upgrade' for you.
    Believe it or not, it's part of the Vista license.

    Your retailer might also have a free or discounted path to 7 when it's released (but probably not).

    I think the best thing to do is download a trial of Microsoft's VirtualPC.
    Then you can set up a guest XP OS on your laptop and if you have any trouble getting drivers or anything you can use the host OS to get them.

    When the trial for VirtualPC expires you can download VMware Workstation and actually import your XP Virtual Machine into VMWare. When the trial for this expires you should be very close to the release of Windows 7. :thumb 

    If you haven't used 7 yet, it's the things you like about Vista without the things you don't.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2009
  7. JetRaid

    JetRaid Jhet Rheyd

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2,972
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +1
    Vista rules
     
  8. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    I'm going to wait, actually. I managed to get Neverwinter to work by shutting off Vista's damn User Control crap (the one that asks you for permission to turn the computer on when you press the on button). It solved quite a few problems, but I am still trying to figure out why my machine doesn't go into screen saver or power screen down, but I'm assuming it has something to do with the same crap. I googled the hell out of the problem, but all I find are others with the same issue, but no responses.
     
  9. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,704
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +3
    Another thing is to right click an app and select 'run as administrator'.
    You can also right click an app from the Start menu, go to properties and select the compatability mode to the OS that the app was originally written for.

    Also, you should finish Mass Effect before you play Neverwinter Nights again.
     
  10. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    What you mean to say is I should finish Mass Effect, inFamous (on Evil), Ghostbusters, Dragon Quest Swords, Resistance: Retribution, and Barbie's Day on the Town, before I play NW again. I'm actually playing NW because a group of six of us are doing a custom campaign.

    Hey Smash, any idea whatsoever why my screensaver doesn't come on, or my laptop go into sleep mode (all obvious solutions considered: like checking display settings or power settings on the machine).
     
  11. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,704
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +3
    Yes, that's exactly what I meant to say.
    Wait, you didn't finish Barbie?

    Sorry, no.
    I was gonna use Bing to Google it when I had a chance.
    Bing is the best way to Google.
     
  12. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    Oh I googled the living shit out of it in as many ways as I could. Like I said, I came up with a few people with the same issues in message boards, but no one responded to them, heheheheh.

    And I'm at the last boss on Barbie. Ken's Brother, who's trying to seduce me. I can't make Barbie say NO, no matter what pattern I try, so I just gave up :( 
     

Share This Page