Camera Downgrade

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by frenzyrumble, May 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frenzyrumble

    frenzyrumble Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8,657
    News Credits:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +50
    After a few weeks of screwing with my new canon powershot elph SD790 IS, I've decided to retire it. It's an amazing camera, but not giving me the results of the SD1100 (a lower model) which I just re-purchased on ebay for a decent deal.

    Best buy has a 15 day return/exchange policy. Wondering what I can do about that? I paid about $350 for it, got the 3 year all inclusive warranty plan and huge 4gig SD card, I don't want to really lose money though, so I might just keep it as the "family camera"

    My pics weren't making me happy, the "digital macro" setting is actually "too advanced" on this upgraded camera. I have to fumble between 3-4 settings/presets to get each pic to where it's still not as great as my older pis.

    If anyone's interested or was looking for this type of camera, let me know.
     
  2. RodimusDawg

    RodimusDawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2,165
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +9
    That really sucks F_R. One of those rare occasions of when something works too well.

    Maybe this can also be a forum of what type of cameras to avoid. I know one to steer clear of is VU-POINT wooo weee those things shouldn't even be allowed to take pics of my kids. The buttons are really unresponsive and I couldn't even get into the gallery to view pics or anything for that matter. I would change a setting and back out to the camera to see that it changed itself back again. :throw 

    I had a Canon Powershot a470 till I lost it. And I loved that thing.


    What was it doing to your pics if you don't mind me prying?
     
  3. frenzyrumble

    frenzyrumble Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8,657
    News Credits:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +50
    Well, the old camera was sweet. I had it set for perfect custom pics. Nothing too intricate either.

    The digital macro setting on the 1100 was point and click. I could photo customs from a 10-12" distance, and every part would come out crisp and clean. Canon has a "green rectangle" which appears and lets the user know that whatever's in that box is focused. I could set the shutter speed really low and get crisp pictures.

    The 790 IS has a very powerful macro setting. It's better for SUPER closeup detailed shots of a specific area. I'm talking like 2-3" from the lens. Here's a shot with Digital Macro for the 790 IS

    [​IMG]

    It's a great pic, and really shows detail on the gun's end, but here's a digital macro pic with the older camera (SD1100)

    [​IMG]

    The overall shot looks more fitting to what I need my camera to do.

    Here's another pic from that Grimlock...you can see how crisp everything is with it:

    [​IMG]

    After weeks and about 10 custom photoshoots, this is what I continually get with the new camera:

    [​IMG]

    You can see, some parts are crisp, yet others aren't (like his forearm)
    I'll be damned if I'm gonna spend all this time on details and they get screwed up by a camera setting or problem ;) 
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
  4. RodimusDawg

    RodimusDawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2,165
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +9
    Holy balls, Yeah that is a significant difference. You would expect a for a higher end model from the same company to have the same capabilities as it predecessors.

    I had the same problem with the canon A470 but not like this bad thou. And I had to wing it since my other half misplaced the Instructions.

    Do you plan on doing any re-takes once you get the new SD1100?

    Edit: Is there a Ultimate Radicon Camera out there? Someone should kitbash it.:lol 
     
  5. frenzyrumble

    frenzyrumble Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8,657
    News Credits:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +50
    doubt it lol, seeing 99% of the customs I've done are in other hands now. Should get here in about 3-5 days though, quite excited to downgrade.
     
  6. deliciouspeter

    deliciouspeter Back in Black TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Posts:
    4,299
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    Jeez, this is incredible. I have a Canon powershot, similar to your SD790 and I'm having the same problems. I've been driving myself crazy changing lighting and messing with the settings, only to have blurred or unfocused shots. The macro seems so picky. My older Sony shot much better pictures.
     
  7. frenzyrumble

    frenzyrumble Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8,657
    News Credits:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +50
    Well, I wouldn't downgrade as far as Sony....(just kidding)
    But the SD100 seems very ideal for custom photos, for under $200, it's the best bet I've come across, and I did a shitload of research online when going to canon the first time.
     
  8. Solrac333

    Solrac333 G1 got it right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Posts:
    11,793
    Trophy Points:
    217
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    I really can't see a difference :(  but it's funny because when my wife and I went to Best Buy, my wife wanted a new camera. I can't remember which one she wanted but the sales guy wanted her to get a better more expensive one and basically told her not to get the one she wanted. She was pretty bummed and we just left getting neither. The camera we use is a Kodak CX6330. It's the one I use to take pics of my customs. I have a feeling that the one she wanted is better than the one we're using.

    Oh yeah, there might be a restocking fee.
     
  9. Drpee

    Drpee Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    741
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    I can tell the difference. Strange how "better models" actually perform worse then their predecessors. Thats why i opted for the fuji film fine pix s5700 7.1 MP over its bigger brother, as online research showed that although it has less mp's it actually takes better looking photos over its 8 or 9 mp big brother. Weird huh? Plus it only cost like...£80 or something, and its the best camera ive ever owned. Looks great too and has a brilliant macro mode, just as good as yours id say.
     
  10. frenzyrumble

    frenzyrumble Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8,657
    News Credits:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +50
    eww, I don't like fuji. Overpriced for what they offer. Screen's always small on them too.
    plus you got to replace ...batteries?!?

    I never take pics over a 1200x1600 resolution anyway, I could probobly use a camera with 3 megapixels.
     
  11. Drpee

    Drpee Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    741
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Erm...you need to replace batteries on any camera dude...:crazy:  (unless you have rechargeable ones like i do, or a docking station of some sort)

    I dont find the screen too small, its the perfect size imo, for the money its unbeatable. We dont all have 300+ to blow on a camera ya know :wink: 
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
  12. frenzyrumble

    frenzyrumble Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8,657
    News Credits:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +50
    Sorry shouldve' specified "alkaline" vs. lithium... I have bad memories of camera warnings that say "Replace Batteries" every 2 hours. Lithium's the way to go. 30 minute charge and it's good for a week. Even with the rechargable ones I found myself spending way too much cash on batteries, charging docks, and time waiting for them to charge.

    Bigger screen is always a plus. If I could take the 3.5" screen from the 790 and slap it on the SD1100 I'd be completely happy.

    It's not about how much they cost, but to even compare it with one that IS $300, well....
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
  13. Drpee

    Drpee Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    741
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    I wasnt comparing, i was just saying its a good camera for the money.

    I have bog standard batteries in mine. i rarely have to change them once a month, i got at least two months out of it when i first got it before i had to to stick a set of recharged batteries in it, then again i didnt use it much but compared to my old camera which would eat batteries even when it was turned off i was blown away. This thing has awesome battery consumpton its like the prius of cameras lol. (minus the suckage)
     
  14. autobotx23

    autobotx23 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,325
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    I have to agree with FR, I bought a 10MP 3X optical Zoom $150 number from Samsung ()my cost, I work for a Electronic Wholesaler), just to downgrade to a 8MP Kodak Easy share. It was just a lot easier to use, and wielded me much better results. Eventually, later this year, Ill step up to the big leagues with an SLR.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page