Customs: Broken Alpha, please help!

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Depthcharge, Mar 3, 2007.

1. Depthcharge

Depthcharge Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Hey guys! Awhile back a friend of mine was handling my MP Alpha Fighter when, through no fault of his or mine, its left arm snapped off at the bicep joint. I really want to fix this up but I have no customizer experience of any sort.

The main problem I'm facing is that these Toynami MP Alpha's have virtually NO visible screws so I can't get the fighters shoulder apart to get at the damaged piece. It looks to me like its all glued together but I'm not 100%. Maybe somebody else that owns an Alpha can shed some light on that.

If it is glue, it's been suggested to me that I try boiling water or alcohol to dissolve or soften the glue enough to pry apart but I'm worried about melting/warping/discoloration.

The white part is the bicep joint which consists of two pieces. The lower piece retracts into the forearm. The upper piece retracts into the shoulder. The lower bicep features a post (a rather thin post) that inserts into the upper bicep and is held by some mechanism I haven't seen, probably just a knob. This two piece setup gives the fighter its mid-arm swivel articulation, but in this case it created a very thin and fragile piece of plastic that has a lot of force exerted on it during transformation.

Below are some pics of the fighter so I can try to explain how the joint works and how it broke.

This first pic is of the still intact right arm so you can see what it looks like.

[​IMG]

This pic is of the forearm. Note the thin white post at the top of the bicep... that is where the breakage occured.

[​IMG]