Botcon Registration Experience

Discussion in 'Transformers Conventions and Get Togethers' started by Smasher, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Smasher

Smasher HUNKY BEATS

News Credits:
    Let's discuss our experiences registering for Botcon.

I have to admit that the whole registration process left a bad taste in my mouth. This is my first time going to Botcon, so maybe some of the problem is just that I didn't know what to expect. But honestly, I don't think that wanting to know exactly what you are paying for when you sign up, and having a well laid out design is expecting too much.

The information of what you get is really hard to decipher.
    Even the Botcon pdf has more fluff than substance. It's really hard to decipher what exactly you get for each package. The fact that the Minicon package is tied to the Primus package is several lines of text deep.

The actual registration process was not intuitive.

There's all this information about screen names and member names that I wasn't prepared for. And it wasn't until I was actually registering the Minicon package that I realized that my being a member of the TCC had no bearing on the price of the Minicon package. The person using the Minicon package has to be a member to get the reduced price.

And all the while I'm trying to read and decipher this information there's a timer telling me to hurry up. Nothing hinders making an informed buying decision more than a red countdown timer.

The registration went live late on a Friday afternoon so I missed my first day of registration bonus pin.

And frankly, I'm surprised that Botcon still hasn't listed their guests.
    Is Peter Cullen going to be there? Frank Welker? Michael Bay?
    Or is it just going to be the guy who voiced caveman kid from Beast Wars?
    I don't know, but I sure have to hurry up and register because the Primus packages are 40% sold out.

2. Autobot City Comics 2008

Autobot City Comics 2008 Botcon S_T_A_F_F

News Credits: