[BLANKTY] [BLANK] [BLANK] Wii WiFi Connection!!!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by My03Tundra, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. My03Tundra

    My03Tundra LOVES TO EDIT POSTS!!

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,583
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Man, no matter what I do, or how I do it (and I do have a LOT of computer networking experience) I just can't get my Wii to get connected wirelessly to my router! I even bought a Buffalo Wireless Router, specifically listed as being compatible by NINTENDO, for my Wii and I STILL can't get the damn thing to get on or even stay on continuously!

    Almost every other time I go to the Wii Store, Internet or other channels, I don't have a damn connection! Plus, to top it off, when you don't get a connection when accessing the internet you have to essentially input ALL of your connection settings again.

    The Wii has NO problem seeing the router, but it has a problem with connecting to it and staying ON! I'm THIS [<--->] close to punching a hole in the wall from my bedroom to the guest room where the wireless router is located!

    GAHH!!!

    I have a Wii, with latest software, a Buffalo 802.11g WHR-G54s router, and two (well, for now one) laptop setup. Any tips or suggestions would GREATLY be appreciated.
     
  2. shifty02

    shifty02 Greetings Programs

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Posts:
    5,592
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    A) Buffalo routers suck ass
    B) If the Wii is seeing the router, the Wii is working. It's therefor some sort of setting in the router (channel setting, firewall, security, ect) or interferance from somewhere in the room/house.

    Don't know if you've done this or not. But you can look up error codes at support.nintendo.com and it will help you sort out what the problem is.
     
  3. Tigran

    Tigran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,650
    Trophy Points:
    182
    Likes:
    +14
    Set the Channel of your wireless router to either 1 or 11.
     
  4. seven

    seven RIP Poopers 4-1993/5-2008

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I was having a problem with my Wii not connecting at all until I changed my router to channel 11.
     
  5. bugmenot

    bugmenot Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Posts:
    2,252
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    I just bought the Nintendo USB Wifi. Never had a problem with it.
     
  6. tentagil

    tentagil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    As has been said if the Wii sees the router then its connecting, the router simply isn't let it see the internet though. Changing the channel may work, it may also be a setup problem with the internal firewall not allowing the Wii access.
     
  7. misterd

    misterd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,700
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Sorry for hijacking the topic, but while we're on it, any idea why my DS can't recognize my Nintendo Wifi?
     
  8. Soundatron

    Soundatron A Blight Upon The Land

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    991
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Can someone help me cause I honestly have no clue wtf I am doing

    upon inserting the disc to install the software for the Wi-Fi it prompted me with a message reading "A network bridge is enabled. Delete the network bridge in Network Connections."

    1) Ok wtf is a network bridge
    2) I went to Network and Internet Connections and see I have 2 network bridges do I delete them both
    3.) Will deleting this network bridge affect my current internet connection or anything?

    Sorry but I'm bad at this stuff
     
  9. Edge

    Edge weapon of destruction

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Likes:
    +0
    If your using the nintendo wifi usb thing then you have to go into the internet set up on your wii and select nintendo wifi connector option it is under options i believe after that its pretty simple.


    If your connecting to a router I don't know what to tell you
     
  10. Greenshadow0

    Greenshadow0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,541
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Yes, The Nintendo WiFi USB Connector (by Nintendo) works very well and Is designed specifically for the DS or Wii.
     
  11. 333HE

    333HE HERSHEY'S GONNA EAT JOO.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Posts:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Here's a question:
    My Wii can connect to internet, forecast channel, voting channel and the news channel. But it can't connect to the shopping channel. Any ideas?
     
  12. Tigran

    Tigran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,650
    Trophy Points:
    182
    Likes:
    +14
    Again, make sure the channels are 1 or 11.
     
  13. Soundatron

    Soundatron A Blight Upon The Land

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    991
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    can someone help me out please?
     
  14. misterd

    misterd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,700
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Actually my wife just got a router two days ago, so now my Wii has both the router and the Wifi to tap (the Wifi is the primary).

    Anyway, my Q was the DS, which doesn't seem to recognize my Wifi.
     
  15. misterd

    misterd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,700
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Maybe Nintendo saw your credit rating?
     
  16. shifty02

    shifty02 Greetings Programs

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Posts:
    5,592
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    More than likely it's due to interference between the Wii & Router. Since the voting, forecast, & news channel just download an update it's not sending a bunch of packets of info, unlike the shop or internet channels. Therefore those are more likely to have interference issues. You can try changing the router channel to either 1 or 11, making your own SSID ( if the SSID is the default) or moving the Wii into the same room at the router (if it isn't already).
     
  17. toma

    toma eskimo in disguise

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,583
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    my wii kept disconnecting when my router was set to channel 6, which had me confused as anything because my ds has always worked fine. changed to channel 1 and i've never had a problem, the connection has been fast and consistent, and my router is only in the next room over.
     
  18. My03Tundra

    My03Tundra LOVES TO EDIT POSTS!!

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,583
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    A) Tell me about it... but the Wii didn't like the 802.11N Linksys router I had. It wouldn't even SEE that one.
    B) I managed to get my DS online yesterday with some router changes, and I'm going to work on the Wii a bit.
     
  19. My03Tundra

    My03Tundra LOVES TO EDIT POSTS!!

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,583
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    THE BASTARDS!! THEY KILLED MY WII CONNECTION!!

    I guess they saw my browser history... ;-)


     
  20. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    I must repeat making the channel 1 or 11. Changing it to 11 fixed the issues I had.
     

Share This Page