Blackouts Automorph

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by ChrisLHanssen, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. ChrisLHanssen

    ChrisLHanssen From the desk of TBSKLF

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Posts:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    OK what was the automorph feature of Blackout (MH-53 Pavlow Helicopter) supposed to be?
     
  2. SAF7

    SAF7 LOVE this game!

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    5,132
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +14
    Ebay:
    When you fold his legs/waist in place, the head is supposed to pop out.

    It breaks really easily.
     
  3. guard convoy

    guard convoy The Big Daddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    14,036
    News Credits:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Likes:
    +18
    the center of the cockpit was suppose to flip up to become robot and flip down to become vehicle....it don't work
     
  4. $shockwave$

    $shockwave$ Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    3,141
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +6
    Mine broke, when I first "tried" transforming him.
     
  5. Dran0n

    Dran0n Junk male

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    13,284
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    217
    Location:
    Cygnus X-1 (ya bish)
    Likes:
    +6
    I think (I don't own him .... yet) when you fold the legs down the cockpit rotates thus revealing the head. I've heard it break really easily though, so be careful.
     
  6. ChrisLHanssen

    ChrisLHanssen From the desk of TBSKLF

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Posts:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Will it have broke before you get it out of the box?
     
  7. Autoclot

    Autoclot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    1,094
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +39
    It didn't so much break on mine, as somehow the gearing manages to get out of step, so that when he goes back into helicopter mode, the cokpit centre isn't flush with the sides.

    I've realigned mine several times, and each time it still manages to lose its alignment eventually :( 
     
  8. jametron

    jametron Release the Kraken!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    6,398
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +15
    He also has "shins" that pop out when you pull on his "knees"...

    just sayin :p 
     
  9. jorod74

    jorod74 Psycholagnist (Ret.)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7,559
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    i used to keep him in bot mode because his automorph ruined the look of his alt mode, so the last time I TF-ed him and got his cockpit aligned, i left him alone. scared to move him.

    as much as I hate the fact he is SO small for a voyager and the Automorph is utter shite on a stale cracker, I wish i had bought an extra BO to avoid transforming him ever and have him in both modes.
     
  10. optronix72

    optronix72 Autobot

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Posts:
    517
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Wonder if they fixed the automorph with Grindor? or if it even has that feature.
     
  11. ChrisLHanssen

    ChrisLHanssen From the desk of TBSKLF

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Posts:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0

    How do you realign him?
     
  12. Autoclot

    Autoclot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    1,094
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +39
    Unscrew the sides of the helicopter nose enough so you can disengage the automorph gears, then tip the centre section forward to skip a tooth on the gear.

    You can't (or at least, I couldn't) completely remove the side panel, so you have to keep pressure on the outer parts to keep the gear disengaged. I think that may be part of the problem I had - it could be that I only realigned one side.
     
  13. Shockscream

    Shockscream Chairman of Nerd Day

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2,817
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +4
    Mine hasn't worked for far too long a time. I actually don't recall it ever working, actually. I have to pull his chest/head piece into position every time. There's no problem with aligning it, though.
     
  14. Bgrngod

    Bgrngod Autocon

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Posts:
    6,108
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +35
    When you move his legs down, he "automorphs" into Broken Blackout.
     
  15. rapid_fire

    rapid_fire TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    3,616
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +57
    same here, doesn't work, but no problems lining him up
     
  16. TacticalSamurai

    TacticalSamurai Hunter Killer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Posts:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    When I have time I will post a youtube video on how to do it properly guys. Just give me a few days.
     
  17. Gingerchris

    Gingerchris Telly-headed Tyrant

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    14,696
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +43
    It's for this figure I started using the term 'AutoBreak' feature. Right out of the box he didn't want to work right. The chest never sat properly in robot mode or the alt mode was always kinked. I must've reset the gearing in him about twenty times before I just gave up and left him to display in robot mode. Somewhat typically, when I came to rebox him for storage and transformed him to helicoptor mode he aligned perfectly. All the times I transformed him for fun he didn't work, then when I'm going to store him away he behaves. Too late, Mr Choppah.
     
  18. jackson_swiftly

    jackson_swiftly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Likes:
    +0
    My Grindor's automoprh mechanism doesn't work correctly. The torso doesn't "snap" into place in robot mode, nor does it sit flush with the body in vehicle mode. Grindor is altogether worse than Blackout. My Blackout works just fine. Just gotta be gentle while transforming it.
     
  19. Gingerchris

    Gingerchris Telly-headed Tyrant

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    14,696
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +43
    I should imagine things will only get worse the more they reuse the mold.
     
  20. ChrisLHanssen

    ChrisLHanssen From the desk of TBSKLF

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Posts:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    What is the purpose of that part of his transformation?
     

Share This Page