Customs: Big Lots Airbrush kit

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by catch22, May 5, 2008.

1. catch22

catch22 Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    Just a heads up, Big Lots has an $8 airbrush kit for sale. This was mentioned in a post in another thread, but I figured it deserved it's own thread since more people would see it.

It comes with an airbrush that looks a lot like a Badger 350, plus two bottles, a wrench thing, a dropper, an attachment for can propellant, and some other adapter.

I've never used an airbrush before other than that cheap Testors kit...not the one that comes with a stand-alone airbrush, the one like in this picture.

I gave it a shot with the leftover can of Testors propellant I had, and filled the bottle with Tamiya Flat Red thinned with some 70% iso alcohol. I used Cybertron Brimstone as my test subject. Spray was very intermittent and spread out...not sure if that was due to the airbrush, the propellant, or me. The one section I did get covered looked pretty damn good though.

2. anovasinn

anovasinn THE PAINTS MUST FLOW!!!

i have the big lots air brush and i think i was the one that made mention of it in the earlier thread.

anyways the one i have is top notch for overal painting i do not see alot of use for it in high detail painting though.

not sure what the intermittent problem your having is. when i use testors propelent i soak it in warm water it scares you because the can sizzles but that is because the propelent is boiling inside. well in short it gives you more presure.

i mainly use my airbrush with a huge compressor in my shed i think i have used the airbrush at over 65 psi.

also i have noticed big lots only carries the damned thing a couple times a year so it is a good idea to buy two in case you need a part . they sell out fast to when they do have them

3. catch22

catch22 Well-Known Member

Ebay: