Beyond Good and Evil

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Primevil, Aug 22, 2007.

1. Primevil

Primevil *Insert Witty Title Here*

Ebay:
    I have a strange history with this game. Back in 2003, I saw the ads in Gamepro and thought it looked interesting, but for whatever reason never thought to give it a chance. Probably because I was a poor high school student and blinded by love for existing franchises.

Flash forward a few years. I currently major in Interactive Design and Game Development at the Savannah College of Art and Design, and about a year ago (give or take a few months) I took a course called Survey of Interactive Entertainment. The course was basically the history of gaming and interactive devices/peripherals, and critiquing a variety of games. Part of the latter involved actually playing the games in class. Well, the professor said that one of the games was going to be Beyond Good and Evil, and I managed to miss that class because I was an idiot and slept late. I was disappointed because I had already heard the game was good and critically acclaimed but sales were poor due to its competition.

So I was at Gamestop the other day checking out used games while my cousin was picking up a game she reserved, when I found Beyond Good and Evil in the Used PS2 games for $10. I had to get it, especially since it was only $7 because my cousin paid for it with her Gamestop Edge card.

I really wish I had given this game a chance when it first came out in 2003 because I really love it. Even when certain elements of the game are reminiscent of other games (especially Metal Gear Solid), Beyond Good and Evil has this wholly unique feel to it. I think this is the only game I've played where a camera actually serves a practical purpose.