Customs: Best paint to use for repainting Classics

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by adamthered, Jun 25, 2008.

1. adamthered

adamthered Reads comics. Starts shit

News Credits:
    Hi all,

I am a complete newbie with repainting figures. I am going to repaint Classics Ramjet into Thrust and Dirge.

I was wondering if I can just paint right over the current factory paint jobs or do I need to prepare them first? If I need to prepare them, what do I do?

Also what paints are the best to use? Testors? Citadel? Some brand I don't know about?

Thanks for any and all information.

Adam

2. Ravenxl7

Ravenxl7 W.A.F.F.L.E.O.

News Credits:
    Other than maybe priming the figures, all you have to do is take them apart, wash the parts, and sand down any parts that'll be rubbing against each other when back together (joints for example). As for paints, I personally don't think there is any one "best" type. I personally use mostly Testors paints, but I also use Krylon, as it has some colors Testors doesn't. Basically use what you're comfortable with using, and what you can get ahold of easily. Good luck with the painting :thumb 

3. frenzyrumble

frenzyrumble Banned

News Credits:
    Krylon fusions seem to take the cake as far as "the best plastic paint" out there. after a week curing and proper prep. paint won't scratch off.

I use krylon fusions usually though an airbrush lately, mixing custom colors, etc. bottled paint, I use testor's model master enamels. enamel sprays, enamel bottled. i recommend sticking to one type of paint.

4. grayfox

grayfox Well-Known Member

Ebay: