AWESOME Flea Market Find!!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by *Deathblade, May 10, 2009.

  1. *Deathblade

    *Deathblade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    830
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Likes:
    +5
    I went to a flea market today on a whim, try $4.50 for THESE!!! I didnt have any cash on me when I first asked the dude the price, I was fully expecting some ebay price BS(like the chump at a pawn shop who wanted $70, even though it was missing a disk.)

    I near blew a vein when the guy said 3 bucks for FF 7. I FLEW to the ATM down the street, thinking this was some cruel joke, but the game was there when I got back. I went a couple tables down and there was the nocturne strategy guide. Lady gave it to me for $1.50.

    [​IMG]


    In case you dont know about the guide, it runs about 70 bucks on ebay.
     
  2. AMG

    AMG Old School

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    8,313
    Trophy Points:
    192
    Likes:
    +5
    Nice score.
     
  3. Boulder

    Boulder Rock Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,920
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +9
    Nice. Reminds me of the story of the guy who found a Vectorex with games and an overlay at a tag sale for $10.
     
  4. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,583
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Can't go wrong with FFVII for $3. Congrats.
     
  5. Galaxy Convoy

    Galaxy Convoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,350
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +0
    Hope you still have a PS1 to play it on, cuz FF7 ain't gonna run on a PS2.
     
  6. netkid

    netkid Where's my Goddamn shoe!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Posts:
    11,216
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +42
    You should have been here 2 weeks ago: Games - PlayStation - Toys "R" Us

    They had that for $20.00 brand new. Check the link often, they might get more back in.
     
  7. Brawlastator

    Brawlastator it is our life - jon bovi

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Posts:
    2,869
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +2
    That beats me finding Homeworld at Goodwill.
     
  8. DrGrim

    DrGrim OBEY

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,151
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    I can play FF7 on my PS2 jst fne As well as an other PS1 game.
     
  9. Takara_destron

    Takara_destron Mainly lurking these days

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    7,518
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Same here.
     
  10. Boulder

    Boulder Rock Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,920
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +9
    The only ones that don't run on the PS2 are the anthology ones (V and VI), and even then I think it's just V.
     
  11. MetalRyde

    MetalRyde is an a-hole with a heart.

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    12,973
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Likes:
    +63
    deathblade. i love and freaking hate you at the same time.

    BTW, i have all the FF games that are on ps1 and all work well on the ps2
     
  12. Galaxy Convoy

    Galaxy Convoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,350
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +0
    Well, I've tried playing my copy of FF7 on two different PS2's and both always freeze at the observatory scene when you first arrive at Cosmo Canyon on Disc 1. Even after taking it to a local store that does scratch removal and having it cleaned up(all 3 discs look brand new now), still no dice.

    After that I just assumed that the PS2 simply didn't have the software/hardware/specs or whatever nessecary to run the type of the graphics that that particular scene produces that the PS1 did. Now though, I don't know what to think.
     
  13. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    I own FF Origins, FF Anthology, FF Chronicles, FF7-9 and they not only worked on my PS2, but I've played them on my PS3.

    You're fine, and congratz on your find. I still have my original FF7, and I probably always will.
     
  14. jorod74

    jorod74 Psycholagnist (Ret.)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7,559
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    Great Score!
    on my PS2, I think 90% of my games play.
    (i have some crap i am glad that won't, lol.)

    But when i got FFX for the PS2, i never had a copy that would get past a certain cut scene at the beginning- it would lock up all the time.

    after buying 2 used and 3 minty fresh copies, i gave em to friends.

    Enjoy FFVII.
     
  15. grimlockams prime

    grimlockams prime Check you feet

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    1,880
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Three words.

    I. Hate. You.
     
  16. Roanstalker

    Roanstalker Great Baan Gaan fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    12,358
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +9
    I bought FF7 for £1 at a local store a few years ago and FFIX for £3 at a car boot sale.
     
  17. KnightSaberAmi

    KnightSaberAmi Nyan Nyan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Posts:
    2,896
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Oh you lucky Bas... Congrats on the excellent find :) 
     
  18. Galaxy Convoy

    Galaxy Convoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,350
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +0
    Okay, now I'm wondering something here. Why won't my copy of FF7 run in either of my PS2's? One's a launch Slim model, the other is a newer one. How new I don't know. A friend of my brother's bought it at a pawn shop to replace the borrowed "Fatboy" model that got trashed. Anyway, 2 different PS2's with 2 different PS1 drivers in them.

    YouTube - Let's Play Final Fantasy VII Part 49 Cosmo Canyon & Learning about the Planet

    This is the scene I was talking about where the game always freezes up in either system. Starts at about 6:15(ignore the commentor). Right after Aeris says "Hey look, a shooting star!" and that comet/whatever starts across the screen. It either freezes up outright, or the scene gets "cancelled" and I can walk around as Cloud while everyone else is froze.

    Just out of curiosity, you guys that can play it just fine, which version do you have, original black label or Greatest Hits? Mine is the GH version.
     
  19. CripNite

    CripNite That Whack Canuck Dude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,356
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Hell, I got that game new for $10 at Wal-mart a few years ago.
     
  20. grimlock1972

    grimlock1972 "No Mas" My Wallet

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    18,185
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +51
    awesome find :bowdown: 
     

Share This Page