Army Building

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Omega_Sentinel, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. Omega_Sentinel

    Omega_Sentinel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    701
    Trophy Points:
    112
    Likes:
    +5
    Does anyone else army build?

    I've got 35 Classic Ramjets and 14 Acid Storms as a seeker army along with about 20 Stockades. Can't bring myself to army build with any of the Autobots because it doesn't make much sense to.

    Are there other that do this or should I seek professional help? :eek: 
     
  2. soundwaveCA

    soundwaveCA Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    13,862
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +2
    If I could buy a super cheap box of Galaxy Force Noisemazes and Rambles I would troop build those.
     
  3. Satomiblood

    Satomiblood Prototype Black

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    19,337
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +4
    I have 30 G1 Wheelies.
     
  4. Cornholiocon

    Cornholiocon Up the irons!

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +1
    I don't army build but guess you could amass an army of Scourges (aka Sweeps).
     
  5. Big Filipino

    Big Filipino John 3:16-17 says it all

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    2,227
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    NJ but originally from the TDot
    Likes:
    +8
    I figure the most logical army build would be the Insecticons and with the TRU exlcusive out right now, that should be a lot easier to do now.
     
  6. grimlock1972

    grimlock1972 "No Mas" My Wallet

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    18,199
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +59
    I don't i collect on a limited budget and with rather limited display space so at least for now id rather have many different molds than a bunch of the same (not counting repaints)
     
  7. transtrekkie

    transtrekkie On the level.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4,307
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    So you're the one that's hoarding them all!

    I don't troop build TFs but I have other lines (Star Wars, GI Joe).
     
  8. destrongerlupus

    destrongerlupus #MoreSawBoss

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    6,539
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +5
    I do a little army building in TF, but its a lot harder than in other lines.

    I had QUITE the nice Vehicon army, but I sold it all on ebay a little while ago. Not for very much either :/

    Priorities change.
     
  9. Ziero

    Ziero TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    4,790
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Likes:
    +0
    The only real troop building I've done with my TFs was with the Energon Predacons. I have 3 of each, with the Dino-locks and Ravages each having one repaint as a unit leader and two generic troops. The other two predacon repaints are too expensive for me to bother with. Led by Energon Scorponok and his toady Cybertron Scrapmetal, it makes for an impressive, yet very short, army of drones.

    I was contemplating doing the same with some of the BM basic vehicles, but they're just too much more expensive to work with and much harder to find.

    With Transformers, since there's so many different characters, just collecting one of each will result in a massive army on it's own. And since they're not like army toys where they all have specific uniforms, it's alot easier to get away with having an army of completely unique bots.
     
  10. Nightwind

    Nightwind Aka Dusty Bottoms.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Posts:
    5,495
    Trophy Points:
    192
    Likes:
    +14
    I did some troop building with Acid Storm as well. I just thought his deco made the perfect generic trooper and coupled with Wal-Mart's $7.77 price at the time, I bought 10 of them.
     
  11. ghowildseven

    ghowildseven SG Decepticon

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Posts:
    670
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    I have 3 Acid Storms only, but I do army build Clone/Storm Troopers.
     
  12. the (H)i(GH)con

    the (H)i(GH)con raver-in-diguise

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,052
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    So uhh..... Can I buy one of those Ramjets off you since you have so many?
     
  13. aey103

    aey103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,832
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +13
    Nope. Aside from the Energon Terrorcons or the Scrapmetal drones in Cybertron, it never made any sense to me.
     
  14. Computer5

    Computer5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Posts:
    666
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Likes:
    +0
    I am currently army building the Gears of War series 5 COG Soldier (10 right now). I don't normally army build TFs unless you count having dupes for collection purposes. 3 Universe Infernos, 3 Universe Prowls, 4 Acid Storms etc.
     
  15. QmTablit

    QmTablit Disguise: Check. Robot...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    9,428
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    For the most part, no. The only drone/troop figures I have are a Hasbro Cyclonus ("his Armada"), and a Universe Starscream which I'll be looking to paint up in the near future as a generic purple seeker.
     
  16. Gingerchris

    Gingerchris Telly-headed Tyrant

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    14,696
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +43
    Never been into troop-building anything. If I'm going to drop cash on a new figure I'd prefer it's not something I already own (unless I've come across something rare or a huge bargain I already own one of and it would be foolish to not pick up another while the chance is there). And I certainly wouldn't buy enough of a single thing to consider them a 'troop'.
     
  17. Cast

    Cast Roll the dice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,891
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +9
    I got 3 classic starscreams to use as background seekers and a henki starscream to use as startscream, does that count???
     
  18. ersico

    ersico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    8,197
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Likes:
    +1
    i don't but i would like to see all of those :) 
     
  19. guard convoy

    guard convoy The Big Daddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    14,036
    News Credits:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Likes:
    +18
    i got two acidstorms for generic troopers, was going to get more but i never did
     
  20. Hyperoptic

    Hyperoptic G1-Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5,588
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +6
    I have 6 G1 Gnaws to give my Quints a fair number of Sharkticons.
    4 of each original G1 Insecticons.
    4 G1 Scourges for the extra Sweeps.

    That's as close to army building as I come.
     

Share This Page