Anyone have a good, serious idea?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by seeker311, Jun 19, 2007.

1. seeker311

seeker311 The Collector

News Credits:
    Im a social worker for foster care and this summer were trying to come up as to what we can do for the kids in our care. Weve thought about asking for donations or passes from movie theatres and Sixflags, but alot of those businesses are hard to convince. Anyone know what or where good results could be found?

2. Ops_was_a_truck

Ops_was_a_truck JOOOLIE ANDREWWWWWS!!!!!!

Ebay:
    There are always the cheap-to-free places - museums, parks, etc. Now, before you call the "boring" flag, it's important to note that some of these places do have pretty inexpensive packages for summer camp kids. My little brother worked for a summer camp one year and he saved the camp budget a few hundreds by taking the kids to a park and two museums.

3. Spekkio

Spekkio Master of War

At the risk of sounding horrifically cynical, places like Six Flags might be persuaded to offer discounts if you manipulate them into doing so. Promise to bring them good press and they might bite.

Another thought: maybe you could contact local universities to see if they have any students/graduate students/professors that might be persuaded to teach them special classes. I don't know - again, it's just a thought. And again, using good press as a carrot may help you with this. Universities love getting free positive publicity. (Who doesn't?)

4. Chaos Muffin

Chaos Muffin Misadventure Veteran

Swimming, fishing, what Ops & spekkio said, put put golf, basketballing , tennis etc courts, forest campings, scavenger hunts at historical places , or in a big mall, firisbee golfing, concerts...

5. Bryan

Bryan ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Contact vsatx.org. I do Big Brothers, Big Sisters here in Atlanta, and this organization provides all sorts of deals and tickets to groups like your's. We've received free passes to musuems, basketball games, and more.