Anyone good at diagnosing computer issues?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by agravlin, May 18, 2007.

  1. agravlin

    agravlin Bearer of Reason

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    I woke up this morning and turned on my monitor, and my computer was frozen with nothing but Trillian running (so not a heavy system load), so I restarted, and everything started fine, except there is no image on the monitor.

    I looked at the video card, and there's no sign that any chip or surrounding area has burn damage, and the fan is still coming on just fine. When I unplug/plug in the monitor cable, the monitor still makes the magnetic coil noise and the light still changes to green, but there's just no picture - no manufacturer's "No Input" text... nothing. A dead monitor would not even turn on or receive signal that something is connected; a dead output would not be able to tell my monitor that something is connected (and something is telling it that, because you can hear it click when it is connected to the video card); and a dead video card would still allow the monitor to display its factory "No Input" error. I don't get it...

    Everything is spinning up just fine. All the fans (video card, PSU, case, processor) are on, the Hard Drive and DVD drive spin, the power supply appears to be on. And it's not dusty inside, so I don't think it's a "too much dust" issue keeping the system too hot to start up.

    I've shut down, waited a minute, and started back up the computer several times, but to no avail.

    I've had my video card for about four years. It's not overclocked, and as I said, I was not running any system-heavy applications when my computer permanently froze. It hasn't shown any of the usual signs of a "dying video card", such as screen artifacts, screwed up textures in-game, 3D slowdown, etc.

    How can I diagnose what is wrong with my system if I can't even get it to display anything? Help! :( 
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Did you bump the brightness knob control by accident? Does your monitor have onscreen menus you can test it with?
     
  3. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    unplug everything and plug it back in, I dunno
     
  4. honestgabe

    honestgabe I

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,925
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    gremlins
     
  5. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    Are you sure you didn't let the smoke out of it?
     
  6. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,225
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    format c:
     
  7. agravlin

    agravlin Bearer of Reason

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    Like I said, it was frozen and I could see my frozen desktop on the monitor. The screen only went and stayed black after I restarted.
     
  8. Lance Halberd

    Lance Halberd oh hai

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Posts:
    5,780
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +3
    Don't forget to degauss!
     
  9. agravlin

    agravlin Bearer of Reason

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    ... degaussing just repairs magnetic distortion on the monitor. But for the sake of being thorough, I tried that too. Nothing.
     
  10. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    When you restart the computer do you see the power on self test from the motherboard? Are you able to enter windows safe mode?

    If not then your monitor might have lost it's sync signal.
     
  11. Lance Halberd

    Lance Halberd oh hai

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Posts:
    5,780
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +3
    Jiggle the cables!
     
  12. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Sure, but are you 100% positive that the monitor still works? It could be an unrelated issue that popped up a coincidental time. At this point, you have to start ruling things out.

    Try booting in safe mode.
     
  13. MegaPrime33

    MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,771
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +2
    Bad monitor. Buy a new one.
     
  14. agravlin

    agravlin Bearer of Reason

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    I'm not sure what exactly this POST thing is, but if it's on the monitor, then I don't see it. I can't enter safe mode, because I can't see anything on the monitor.
     
  15. agravlin

    agravlin Bearer of Reason

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    I can't boot in any mode, because the screen is blank.
     
  16. TheIncredibleHulk

    TheIncredibleHulk Find Gary Busey!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,232
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +13
    My comp did something like that a few years ago. Turned out to be the video card. Luckily, the motherboard had onboard video, so I plugged the monitor into that and it worked fine.
     
  17. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    You can still enter safe mode. Tap F8 while it's starting up, give it a minute or so, press the up arrow key 8 times, and press enter.

    If that fails, try reseating the video card.
     
  18. Ops_was_a_truck

    Ops_was_a_truck JOOOLIE ANDREWWWWWS!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    11,549
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    If nothing else, you could always try someone else's monitor with your computer, just to make sure it's just a monitor issue and not a 3D card issue.
     
  19. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    if the computer turns on and you can't see anything at all, its the video card

    sounds like its fried. take it out, and use the onboard if you have one. if not, time to buy a new one

    not necessarily, its getting a signal from the card, just a broken signal, and the fan comes on the video card because its still getting power fine
     
  20. Drake

    Drake Smooth Is Smooth Baby

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,205
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    I feel your pain. My video card took a dump this week as well. The screen was all garbled up all the way down to bios mode. Windows looked like a bad crosshatching effect.
     

Share This Page