Anyone go through jury duty before?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MST3KFan, Sep 21, 2016.

1. MST3KFan

MST3KFan Master of the Obvious

News Credits:
    So at the beginning of the year I got a paper from the state pointing out I was chosen to possibly be drafted for jury duty for the next two years.

Today I got the summons that at the beginning of November, I must report (or as they state ...be "On Call") for jury duty in our state's federal court for jury duty.

I may be able to postpone it given I'm a full-time student in college and that is one of the excuses it states you can use to at least postpone it.

Gotta say, the timing REALLY helps things (sarcasm) given I'm a full-time student, work overnights on weekends, and being around for my Dad going through chemotherapy a second time right now.

Anyway...anyone here ever do jury duty? I know of people that were drafted, but never went for various reasons, but how about some people that have.

2. Laser_Optimus

Laser_Optimus Your opinion was noted. Now get lost. TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Google+:
    I wouldn't worry about it too much as you have two very good reasons to be made exempt: you're a full time student and you have an immediate family member going through medical issues that requires you be there as a caregiver. I was able to get out of jury duty simply because I watch my daughters after they get off school and we don't make enough to put them in daycare temporary or otherwise. Of course I live in Florida and the legalities can very from state to state from what I've heard.

3. prfctcellrulz

prfctcellrulz Emperor Of Destruction

Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Instagram:
    YouTube:
    Tumblr:
    Not me personally, but my sister has.

4. comicfan17blue

comicfan17blue Well-Known Member

It depends on the type of jury duty you get selected for: