Anyone experience a major career change?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by drippy, Mar 21, 2007.

1. drippy

drippy is a freethinker.

If so, were you successful? Is it more rewarding? Are you happier? Were there significant obstacles you had to overcome?

I'm seriously considering starting a business in the next two years that would be a total departure from what I currently do for a living.

Scary stuff when you're the (currently) sole provider of a family with two kids.

To mitigate the scariness, if only slightly, I remind myself daily that

Thank goodness the only debt we have is a mortgage...

2. Fairy Princess

Fairy Princess Banned

I went from being a Chef for almost 9 years, to after surgery working for Customer Service/Tech support...

It sucks, really really badly.

3. Jux

Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

I just started in my "career field" in the past few months after being out of school since May of 05.

I don't like it, and I think I made a mistake. What I want to do is go back and become a teacher.

But here I am. Signing forms, sending people back to court, and not doing a damn thing to make myself happy or help others.

4. honestgabe

honestgabe I

I was a poli sci major for three years, interned, volunteered...and realized I hated it. Changing my major this year to Communication Disorders. After working with kids for a year I think becoming a speech-pathologist or audiologist would be a world more rewarding than a career in government.

5. IACON

IACON "That's Vector Sigma?" TFW2005 Supporter

I started as an electronics engineer and somewhere down the line I understood that the world of electronics is a wonderful place, but without me in it. So I became a VFX artist.

6. Foster

Foster Super Mod

News Credits: