Anybody here know how to get files from the 360 to the PC?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Skywarp_TPK, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. Skywarp_TPK

    Skywarp_TPK Harbringer of the MegaDub

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Likes:
    +1
    I tried using that dock thing that is supposed to work, but it really doesn't. Can I just transfer the files over the network?
     
  2. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    What files?
     
  3. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    I take it your HD is getting full or something?
     
  4. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +5
    My thoughts exactly. And, what is the "dock thing"?
    Are you referring to the the SATA 360 Connector?
    That connects the HDD to your PC, but doesn't give an explorer GUI or anything like that.

    Try joining these forums for help.
    www.360gamesaves.com
     
  5. Skywarp_TPK

    Skywarp_TPK Harbringer of the MegaDub

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Likes:
    +1
    Yeah, I have a HD full of Star Trek episodes that I want to burn to DVD so I can get more content Downloaded.
     
  6. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    There's no way to do that. Even if you could get them off there, the files would be full of DRM to prevent them from being put on DVD.
     
  7. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +5
    Joes got it right on the money.

    But, those TV shows have an unlimited license, so you could delete them and download them again at any time.

    There are other methods, though.
    If you had a capture card on your PC, or maybe even a digital camcorder, you could transfer them that way.

    I realize that neither one is the best solution, but they are solutions.
     
  8. Skywarp_TPK

    Skywarp_TPK Harbringer of the MegaDub

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Likes:
    +1
    Well, I would settle for just having them on my PC.



    It took me a really long time to download those files even on cable, I would like to put them somewhere where I can archive them but have them available for quick use.


    I have a HP Media Center PC, but I haven't tried the Composite connection on it yet. I'll see if I can do it that way.
     
  9. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Sorry, MS set it up so that you can't get those videos off your 360 HD at all. They went to great lengths to prevent people from putting them on their computers. Their licensing agreement states that the files are only to be viewed on the 360, which was the major hook for the studios. It was the only way they would put their stuff on the download service.
     
  10. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +5
    If you just want them on the PC and then back on the 360 when you want to watch them, the SATA 360 is your tool.

    I think the Video Marketplace is a great bonus of having a 360, but Microsoft's HDD limits its fun. I wish they would just "open up" the PC as a storage device.
    Why not? There are hooks for it all over the place. Let me store Superman in HD on my PC with 650 GB of space and not on the 360 which has 20.
     
  11. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Didn't know about the SATA360. Apparently you also need Xploder360 (or similar software) to actually move the files.

    But, all the movies (you can keep TV shows) auto delete about 48 hours after you watched them so there's no need to back them up.
     
  12. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +5
    The movies do, but the TV show license is unlimited.
    Basically, you can delete any TV shows or XBLA games and download them again when you want to (provided you don't change your gamertag).

    I downloaded Wicker Man in HD last night. I hope its good. The first one with Christopher Lee really creeped me out -but I was like 11 when I saw it.
     
  13. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Yeah, I've downloaded some TV shows (Studio 60), and went on a marathon viewing a couple weeks back to catch up on the last 7 episodes.

    And Wicker Man...I wound up turning it off. Really paled in comparrison to the original. You may enjoy it a bit more than I did though.
     
  14. Skywarp_TPK

    Skywarp_TPK Harbringer of the MegaDub

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Likes:
    +1
    Well, that sucks, but since the Zune's DRM was so easily broken, I am hoping that this will get cracked eventually.


    Well, I guess that might be my only option, but tonight I might try recording them over the composite connection and see how that works.

    Yeah, that would be great.
     
  15. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +5
    Wow -turned it off?
    Oh well, I'll give it a look see anyway.

    I paid for it. :) 
     
  16. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Is the Video Marketplace that good?
    It's not avilable where I am, and I'm not sure it would be something that I'd use fully.
    Maybe the odd movie, but any TV show I generally get elsewhere, convert it to WMV then stream it to the 360 and watching it on my TV.
     
  17. Skywarp_TPK

    Skywarp_TPK Harbringer of the MegaDub

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Likes:
    +1
    I enjoy it just for the Remastered HD versions of Star Trek alone.
     
  18. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    It's easy an convenient and pretty inexpensive for TV Shows, especially if they are available in HD. Except for Adult Swim stuff (Like Aquateen), which is the same price for a 10 minute episode as it is for an hour long episode of other shows. I have yet to download any movies though, I just can't justify the price for what amounts to a rental.
     
  19. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +5
    I wouldn't get a 360 for the Video Marketplace, but it is a really nice extra to have.

    1. Remastered classic shows (see Skywarp's post)
    2. HD Movies without an HD-DVD or BluRay player.
    3. Convenience -my cable was out one night and missed an episode of Venture Brothers. I could have "found" it on the internet, but it was nice to be able to download and watch it on the 360 in (standard) DVD quality.

    There are issues. Downloads take a while. You can queue them up and play other games, but they tend to pause on some games when they shouldn't (Lego Star Wars?). But the main issue is hard drive space. Superman Returns HD is nearly 8 GB. That quickly starts to crowd your game saves, demos, etc.
     
  20. Skywarp_TPK

    Skywarp_TPK Harbringer of the MegaDub

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Likes:
    +1
    Yeah, I have 2 SD episodes of star trek and 4 HD episodes. That along with 4 XBLA games and my saves, my hard drive is completely full.
     

Share This Page