Anybody else worried about their figures ten\twenty years from now?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Knightdramon, Mar 22, 2008.

1. Knightdramon

Knightdramon Hasbro LIES to the US

News Credits:
    During the last five years that I've started to collect again I've come across various figures-chogokin series, yamato macross series, revoltechs and pretty much every transformers line.

I'm no engineering genius-I just know enough to be able to voice my concern about the long-term durability of the figures on our hands.

It's pretty obvious that the more you play with a figure, the more worn it's going to be (always talking about the joints and paint). Moulded plastic stays fine, but painted on details [BB 08 stripes, CL Mirage's sponsors and so on] will wear out and the ball joints will become increasingly loose. Ratchet joints won't last forever either; my RID Megatron is starting to show wear on his shoulders because the arms are too heavy when he's holding the dual sabres.

I've heard [but not sure] that clear plastic is more fragile than opaque and hence I'm skeptical about my BT-18 or any of the clear display stands I've got from Bandai.

Moreover, all plastic tends to discolour [much like the yellowing of earlier 80ies toys], just not that noticeably perhaps at the moment. Who's to say that in ten years my Classics Bumblebee won't be of a faded lime colour?

And to add to the annoyance of it all, whenever a new figure is announced one of the first things I look for is what types of joints are used, not always for articulation, but for durability, and what sort of weight each joint carries. Rubber used on toys is also a concern of mine [see Movie Prime longstacks, Alts tires and whole suit frames on 1/6 figures]. My MP-01 Megatron's gun shoulder stock broke off because the rubber wrapped.