Minor/Repaint: Another Voyager Megatron De-ice/repaint

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by PurdueAV2003, Oct 3, 2007.

1. PurdueAV2003

PurdueAV2003 Engineer

News Credits:
    Well, this is my first attempt at a kitbash/repaint. I hated both the leader and voyager paint schemes, so I thought he was due some respect. The voyager seemed to be a more accurate mold, thus I chose it. I wanted to go with a real worn look since he had been traveling at high speeds through space for thousands of year and then was trapped in an iceberg for thousands more. I've seen what a few years of dirt and wear can do to a real aircraft's finish, I could only imagine how dirty and worn thousands of years could do!

The wings and vertical stabilizers were the hardest part. I used gap filler to smooth out the "ice" on the wings and stabs and sanded them smooth. I then used a Dremel to trim off the excess "ice". The vertical stabs were particularly difficult since they are made out of a soft plastic or rubber. The filler would crack if they flexed, so I had to be very careful when sanding and trimming.

For my own touch, I decided to make the chest piece smooth. I plan on making a Decepticon symbol decal to place in the center. It is a bit of an homage to G1 Megs.

Let the opinions fly! :D 

Picture Gallery Here!

2. TonyzCustomz

TonyzCustomz Am I doin it rite? TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    I like the paint job, just as described, But I am not feeling the chest piece I would dremel that off and use some sculpt to fill in a design of some sort. But if your going to do the decepticon symbol then that might be cool. Overall you did a great job.

3. a person

a person Is not amused.

News Credits:
    I don't like the chest piece, but everything else looks fine.

4. Prisoner1138

Prisoner1138 TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits: