Fan Art: Animated Transformers Project - Need Opinions

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Triggerwit, Nov 7, 2007.

1. Triggerwit

Triggerwit Member

Hey, I'm an animator from Vancouver...new to the boards.....

I am making a short for a project that was written about 5 years ago that picks up after Beastmachines. It's taken a lot of time only because it took that long for me to be skilled enough to do the project after a group of fans and I wrote it in 2001-2002...... Both design-wise, and animation-wise, I was not talented enough to do it 5 years ago. It will be classically animated, done in high quality animation in the style of G1. Think....G1 movie for animation quality..

The Phase I'm in is character design. I've begun working on turn arounds for the characters. I don't want to show the bodies yet, but I wanted to get an idea of color choice for one particular character...

Maxima Convoy... The "Prime" of this series... After a couple sketches I nailed down a basic idea for how he may look, but I am struggling on what colors to use. I have included the one I settled on, which looks very prime and not very unique...., and three alternatives.... Would you keep the same colors? Basically, I'm wondering if you are all sick to death of seeing the same prime colors...... bearing in mind he is a different character, not optimus prime, would you prefer a different scheme, and which one out of those three if not the prime-like colors? (Edit - or suggest a scheme to use, I'll try it out.)

Oh, and I sneaked in a Decepticon that will be in the series.... He's very evil..hence the evil color scheme. =)