An Interview With Jack Angel [The Voice Of Astrotrain]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Screamers, Nov 25, 2010.

1. Screamers

Screamers Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    An Interview With Jack Angel [The Voice Of Astrotrain]

Another recent interview I had was with Jack Angel, that original voice of Astrotrain, Ramjet, Ultra Magnus from Transformers season three among many others!

[​IMG]

Screamers: What first inspired you to become an actor?

JA: I guess it was going to the movies and then discovering that anybody could do that, and that there were career paths to follow to get there.

Screamers: Had voice acting been first choice?

JA: No. I always wanted to be a movie star, but the universe let me into voice acting and it’s been great fun. Radio beckoned when I graduated from SF State University, and I just followed along for the ride.

Screamers: In regards to acting, I take it radio was your first acting job? What had been your first acting job?

JA: While I was at SF STATE we had a class in which we performed on the local educational channel KQED for a psychology class other students were taking for credit. Even though we were not paid, because it was on TV, I regard that as my first acting job. That was before radio. Then, in TV later on, I did some commercials on camera for a variety of products. My first radio gig was at KYOS in Merced, just north of Fresno. I was there for a couple of years. My first radio “acting” job, in addition to being a disc jockey, was in a commercial for “Gallagher Cleaners” in which I was a character that was not myself.

Screamers: The cartoon characters you had voiced for, do you remember your first acting job?

JA: Wally Burr, then a director at Hanna/Barbera was looking for some big voices for “Challenge of the Superfriends”. He hired me to play “Hawkman”, “Flash” and “Super Samurai”.

Screamers: Favorite cartoons you've worked with?