Alternators please!

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by mandiprime97, Sep 20, 2011.

1. mandiprime97

mandiprime97 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Twitter:
    YouTube:
    Tumblr:
    Hi, I'm still a bit new to the Transformers even though I've liked them since 2007. The Alternators are really cool, and if you guys could post pics and info on them (i.e, where to buy, what figures recommended, what characters there are), I just want to learn more about them because they look interesting to me. Thanks :D 

2. Roanstalker

Roanstalker Great Baan Gaan fan

News Credits:
    Where to Buy: Our own Junkion or ebay. Get Meister/Jazz mold. Or Grimlock (though a lot of people seem to have problems with that mold).

3. Steevy Maximus

Steevy Maximus Old School Snarkster

News Credits:
    The wiki is your friend:
    Transformers: Alternators - Transformers Wiki

As to getting them: pretty much source that sells older toys (Big Bad Toy Store, eBay, etc) sells them. They are no longer available at retail. Because of their "collector" orientation, a LOT of sources got into buying them back then. But because they are so collector friendly, they still tend to command premium pricing (depending on character). Early character were vastly overshipped and are fairly easy to get cheaply, later releases or short runs (like Swerve) still command pretty hefty prices.

Personally, I think the Subaru Imprezza, Mazda RX-6 and Acura RSX produced some of the better figures with the Corvette and Viper close behind. The Mustang (despite having two of my favorite characters AND my preferred vehicle mode) is one of the most frustrating Transformer products I've ever handled.

4. Grimlock_13

Grimlock_13 Rattrap Teabag

News Credits:
    I'm sure there are still Feedback threads for some of them if you want to search that forum.

At any rate, my favorites are Grimlock, Silverstreak, Shockblast[wave], Tracks and Mirage.

5. Obsidian X

Obsidian X Dork of the moon