Customs: Airbrush Advice

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Insane Galvatron, Jan 13, 2012.

1. Insane Galvatron

Insane Galvatron is not insane. Really!

News Credits:
    Hello everyone. I've decided to move up in my painting skills. Instead of limiting myself to whatever colors come in a can, I want to get an airbrush. Help me decide what brand/model to get. Here is a list of what I'm looking for.

External mixer ( to make cleanup and quick color change easier )
    Ability to connect to an air compressor
    Price in the $50-$60 range.

If my thoughts on the external mixer are wrong, please explain. Since I've never used one, I'm not that familiar with them and would love to be educated.

Thanks in advance for any help,
    IG

2. ^o^CORVUS^o^

^o^CORVUS^o^ You call on me to solve a crooked rhyme

Ebay:
    I second this, because I've been considering getting an airbrush for a couple of years now and still have yet to bite the proverbial bullet.

3. The Crow

The Crow ARK BUILDER!!

News Credits:
    Ebay:
  4. Insane Galvatron

News Credits:
    I'm still not sold on an internal mixer. Cleanup may be "easy", but it still requires cleanup. Testors makes an external mixer that has lids you put on the little paint bottles. So if you want to change colors, it's as easy as switching the bottles on the end. No cleanup needed at all. This thing would require cleaning between colors. It may not be that big of a deal to most, but for my needs, constant color changes will happen so I'd like to make it as painless as possible. The reason I haven't bought the Testors one was that it doesn't have an adjustable nozzle nor can it hook up to a compressor.

5. OMEGAPRIME1983

OMEGAPRIME1983 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Ebay: