AFA these days....love em?..or errrr..other?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by TheMint1980, Jul 1, 2012.

1. TheMint1980

TheMint1980 Member

Ok,

So I've been sending pieces off to AFA here and there for many years....mainly just for the case protection aspect, and 3 rd party photos and verification for potential resale down the road. I've never been too hung up on the grades as long as they make some kind of logical sense.

Here's the thing....these days, their cases are awesome, their customer service is great overall, but their grade consistency as of late has just been horrid. Ive been at this hobby a while. I know how AFA grades their toys in regards to conditional aspect, but the things they are pointing out as of recent, in regards to flaws, aspects that may downgrade a piece, etc, are frankly, ludicrous.

Ive run into this multiple times now with them in the last few months.

One example is A MIB/ opened to inspect contents, Optimus Prime i sent off to be graded MIB, AFA qualified.

The toy was in a sealed box, untouched. The box was rough, so i opened it to inspected it. Prime was flawless and brand new. Perfect paint, chrome, factory stickers, all accessories on trees, sealed in baggies..the works. I decide he's a good AFA Q candidate and send him off.

I get him back and AFA has graded the toy a 70, 80, 80 That's a 70 box, ( understandable, the outer box had some rough edges) an 80 window...( also understandable...window looked fine but not minty/ new), and an 80 for the mint, untouched Prime?..( whaaaaa?...hold the phone).