A view from the film world...

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by DeathsHead, Feb 10, 2007.

1. DeathsHead

DeathsHead Well-Known Member

In advance of any dispute this post may cause - I'm aware stuff like this has been discussed before, feel free to delete as you see fit.

Frustration with the content and subject matter of many threads on this board - and indeed many others - has finally forced me to screw up 'ye olde courage' and offer you some insights I have happened upon...

Firstly - hello. I'm Deathshead. I'm a newbie. I failed to spell my namesake correctly when I registered - don't hold the 'h' against me! My knowledge of TF began in the 1980's with the toys and the UK comic and has been limited to pretty much that since then.

Secondly - I work in the TV and film industry in merry old England. I'm a sound recordist. And just in case anyone really misses the point I'm not working in ANY capacity on the Transformers movie.

Now we have that out of the way - the important stuff I thought you might find interesting:

As a jobbing soundy I occasionally have he pleasure of working with visual effects artists on set, particularily with second unit shooting (I have yet to reach the dizzy heights of being main unit recordist and getting a proper credit!). As a result I have become fairly friendly with some of these guys and decided to approach them with some of the fan-chat about the TF movie in respect of the TF designs - a visual effects department view, if you will.

Many of you seem to have accepted at face value the concept of Transformers designed for film in what could be referred to as a 'realistic' fashion. What I personally have found difficult to accept is the idea that the 'Bayformers' are the ultimate realisation of this concept. Putting this idea to my visual effect buddies, I found that they put the kibosh on this pretty swiftly!