A Megatron Shipped in Robot Mode

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by MisterFanwank, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. MisterFanwank

    MisterFanwank Toy Industry Analyst

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,234
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +44
    I understand that to pass customs, imported G1-ish Megatron figures have to have an orange cap put on his barrel.

    Well, for gun mode I understand that. But what if he's packaged in robot mode? Is that gambling customs will be lazy, or will that pass? Because it is not a gun or anything gun shaped that is being sent, it is a robot that does not look like a gun.

    If it will not pass, why not? Does that mean all lego kits need orange plugs included due to the off chance a convinving gun shape could be made? Where is the line drawn for when it is safe to send something MISB that has the potential to look like a convincing gun without a plug?

    I've been curious about this for a long time.
     
  2. igniz1984

    igniz1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2,042
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:
    I recently ordered the reissue mp megatron from robot kingdom, and I had no problems with customs even though it doesn't have the orange plug. Also it probably helps that he's packaged in robot mode already.
     
  3. x BlackMagnus x

    x BlackMagnus x Is not impressed

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Posts:
    10,457
    News Credits:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +106
    MP Megs is packaged in robot mode but, I guess since the packaging depicts him in both, they open and apply the cap.
     
  4. MisterFanwank

    MisterFanwank Toy Industry Analyst

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,234
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +44
    @Igniz: I wonder if his size had anything to do with it passing? Would G1 Megatron pass the same way?
     
  5. igniz1984

    igniz1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2,042
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:
    I have no idea, but I was a little worried that they would open the box, and see what it is. Then they would probably send it back to the shipper, but I guess I got lucky when my box went through inspection. I have read that a lot of people who purchased mp megs from robot kingdom, didn't have too many problems getting there's through without the plug.
     
  6. MisterFanwank

    MisterFanwank Toy Industry Analyst

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,234
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +44
    Hm. It'd be nice if someone who knew more about customs could post in this thread.
     
  7. x BlackMagnus x

    x BlackMagnus x Is not impressed

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Posts:
    10,457
    News Credits:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +106
    Maybe next time put "Customs Expert Needed" as a thread title.
     
  8. MisterFanwank

    MisterFanwank Toy Industry Analyst

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,234
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +44
    Then people would assume that this thread belongs in Radicons.
     
  9. x BlackMagnus x

    x BlackMagnus x Is not impressed

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Posts:
    10,457
    News Credits:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +106
    "Toy Importing Experts Needed Within", how's that?
     
  10. MisterFanwank

    MisterFanwank Toy Industry Analyst

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,234
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +44
    I could just PM Sidecutter. That's his name right?
     
  11. x BlackMagnus x

    x BlackMagnus x Is not impressed

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Posts:
    10,457
    News Credits:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +106
    ToyArena owner? Yeah that's him. Sorry I couldn't be of any use.
     
  12. TrueNomadSkies

    TrueNomadSkies Airachnid's ratservant

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Posts:
    15,861
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +9
  13. Optimus Bruce

    Optimus Bruce Human Germ

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Manchester
    Likes:
    +5
    I work for a freight company in the uk, but it's all pretty much the same.

    Everything will be xrayed and if no weapon shapes show up, and the accompanying paperwork doesnt say something that gives away it can form a gun likeness, it will pass through and onward to its destination untouched.

    Every now and again random checks are done, but you would have to be very unlucky to be snagged by one of these.

    The goods are shipped in external boxes, and are never opened by customs or anybody unless there is a problem with the box/docs/X-ray or random check.

    If a customs officer was to select your box and upon viewing the handgun mode on the TT packaging, further investigation would be warranted.

    Customs can seize and destroy the goods, send them back to origin (at consignees expense + fine) or contact the consignee for further info before deciding how to proceed.
     
  14. SPLIT LIP

    SPLIT LIP AKA Beve Stuscemi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Posts:
    70,985
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    412
    Location:
    agile house
    Likes:
    +8,008
    Customs aren't stupid. They'll know if it turns into a gun. And it's not really custosm as simple saftey reasons.
     
  15. wildfly

    wildfly Right notes. Wrong order.

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Posts:
    14,333
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +364
    I'm asusming you're in the U.S, in which case it will probably pass.

    If you were going to PM Sidecutter WRT buying one from Captured Prey, right now the site indicates they don't have any available.
     
  16. Sidecutter

    Sidecutter Evil Dealer Scum TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Posts:
    5,134
    News Credits:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +61
    In robot mode, you'll probably be fine. For example, I had no trouble importing MP-5 figures either time without the cap (well, there was grief from one supplier, but I got around that with a two-leg shipment). Nevermind that MP5 would be a pretty comically oversized handgun and hard to take seriously if someone tried to hold one in a threatening manner.

    But really as a private citizen shipping just one figure, your odds of being nailed are insanely low. It would be a lot like the house letting you gamble with loaded dice. Sure, you COULD land on the wrong numbers, but it would be highly unlikely you would. To get in trouble, you'd have to A) have the package opened in the first place and B) have the agent recognize what it is, see a package picture, that sort of thing. The odds your package would even be opened are really low.
     
  17. The_Black_Sheep

    The_Black_Sheep Willyna...

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2,994
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +24
    This is the exact same way I got my Microchange Browning through Aussie Customs...

    If I were you, I'd definitely give it a shot. If this is the best way of getting it through customs, Why not take the chance?
     
  18. alldarker

    alldarker M.A.S.K. Crusader

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    2,195
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +187
    Yup: exact same thing for me with a loose, complete Microman Browning: I asked the seller to at least partly change him to robot mode, just in case. No problems whatsoever getting it sent from the USA to Europe.
     
  19. Treadshot A1

    Treadshot A1 Or just 'A1' for short...

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Posts:
    7,593
    Trophy Points:
    212
    Likes:
    +66
    Hilariously, I got my TFC 06 Megatron through Australian Customs, no blaze orange cap and in gun mode (I meant to put it in robot mode, but i'd only moved one or two parts, still looked like a gun). It wasn't customs' finest hour, that's for sure. I even put him in the same bag as all the stock, silencer and scope parts (which may have helped, I guess, as those parts don't look very realistic).

    Also, Black Sheep, when I was buying my TFC Megs, I deliberately bought it over the MP one because TFC Megs is legal in Australia, but the MP one is outlawed (regardless if it has a blaze orange cap or not). Yes, the oversized MP, which is too big to pass as an actual handgun is illegal, but the TFC one, which is actual handgun size, is perfectly legal (at least when I bought it, and afaik that can't retroactively apply those laws, so my Megs should be safe).
     
  20. Doug

    Doug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Posts:
    6,902
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Location:
    Guntersville,AL
    Likes:
    +54
    I've ordered the MP Megatron from TFSource last Spring and it arrived in robot mode. No problems coming through customs.

    At first I was going to order one from BBTS until they stated about the orange cap.
     

Share This Page