A little help for a newbie-ish collector?

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by PROW, Dec 20, 2011.

1. PROW

PROW Well-Known Member

Hello guys and gals. I'm pretty new to collecting and am, honestly, a bit overwhelmed by all the information scattered on all the message boards. I've looked around this site and just haven't been able to find the best solutions for a couple of the collection hang-ups I've been having. Most of my questions (seemingly) focus on how to get/find/buy hard to find items.

So, I was hoping some of my fellow TF fans could point me in the right direction. And my apologies if there are formatting issues, this should go somewhere else, etc. -- this is my first post. And a big thanks for anyone who can help me out!

Toys

I have ordered from BBTS, TFS, & HTS but try and get most stuff from release at 'big box'.

1. How do you decide what new items to preorder versus waiting for them to pop up in stores? Other than waiting on anything OP, BB, or Megs related, that is.
    2. A related question... how do you know when a new item will be in high demand / super scarce? For instance, I have all the movie line related items I want... except for PCC Heavytread. So is there a way I should have known to preorder that?
    3. In yet another related question... how do you decide when to preorder a wave versus hoping to find the rarer item(s) eventually? For instance, I ordered the TFP deluxe wave 1.5 from BBTS. I found myself in TRU yesterday and could have picked up BB, SS, & Arcee... but decided against it so I won't have to scramble for Cliffjumper (which had a quick sellout for the solo). But I have second-guessed myself a bit wondering how long I'll have to wait for BBTS to fill the order. Right call?