Customs: a few newbie questions.....

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by the (H)i(GH)con, Dec 20, 2008.

1. the (H)i(GH)con

the (H)i(GH)con raver-in-diguise

Damn, this is my 3rd post today, I'm on a roll.....

But anyways......

So the other day, me and a friend were discussing what I should do next. I was showing him some of the stuff on you guys have done, just to help him help me come up with something good. Then I showed him Anemis's BFM (Big F**kin Metroplex) he's been working on and the little lightbulb lit up over both of our heads almost at once..... I decided that I want to attempt a full sized, working boombox (only modernized, with a cd player) that transforms into soundwave. I was wondering if anyone has ever done this and if so, can they post a link to some pics I could use as a refference. I also was thinking that since it would be handeled quite frequently, it would be better to try and dye the majority of it. However, I have zero experience with dyes so I was wondering: A) do they make dye in purple? B) How well does dying really work? C) where would one obtain said dye? And D) would dyeing be a good choice? Like I said, it would probably be transformed back and forth quite often. Any help, suggestions, or ideas you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

I really wanna do this because I feel that since I don't have much experience, a bigger project would be a good way to teach myself how to scratch-build with styrene. Plus, since I'm planning on keeping it as close to the g1 mold as possible (mostly hard angles and straight lines), it wouldn't be too much of a challenge for a newbie like myself. The only think I'm hung up on are the hands (which shouldn't be THAT hard given the size) and the head (I contacted sculpt-bot, but haven't herd back yet) since I've never molded anything before.

2. Spekkio

Spekkio Master of War

This is one of the best project ideas ever. I've never heard of such a thing being done.