8GB Device Label Ravage KO virus questions

Discussion in 'Transformers 3rd Party Discussion' started by Slimshadow457, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. Slimshadow457

    Slimshadow457 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    918
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    Sorry I'm posting this in the 3rd party bin, but it's made by Seatech, and it's Transformers related and I just need an answer to a question :3

    Ok, so I've been surfin' round the net some more and I stumbled upon a Ravage Flash Drive. It looked quite awesome, but out of my price range. Upon heading to amazon and checking on the latest transformers, I found the ravage once again, with '4GB' next to it. I remembered the old one only had 2GB, so I did a bit of research and found out that the 4GB one and the 8GB one are different from the 2GB Tak version(blue decepticon logo, longer body, white lower limbs). Now I've heard that some people have had viruses with it, so I'm just a bit worried.

    Amazon.com: Transformer USB Flash Memory Drive 8GB: Electronics

    If anyone owns, or knows someone who own this flash drive, could you please get back to me and tell me if you've experienced any trojans or other vicious entities? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan OFFICIAL MMM REP

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,785
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    367
    Likes:
    +588
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    I've got a couple of the KO versions - never gotten a virus from one.

    Sounds like nothing but paranoia to me, honestly. Do these people have proof that they got a virus from one?
     
  3. Pun-3X

    Pun-3X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Posts:
    5,019
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +92
    Got the KO 4gb. No virus issues whatsoever. I remember hearing that story some time back, but I also remember a lot of people who bought one like me that reported no issues. I can't say there's really much about it, but that's just my experience.
     
  4. oxidative

    oxidative last chance to evacuate

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,012
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +2
    Just format it on a Mac when you get it and you'll be fine. Or turn off auto-run on your computer. Then format it.
     
  5. Macross7

    Macross7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    8,124
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +642
    Ebay:
    Just don't stick it in a computer. Just use it for display.
     
  6. foxeh30

    foxeh30 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Posts:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Have got the 4GB version, no virus or suspect files. Clean formatted anyway just to be sure.
     
  7. Hippie Trooper

    Hippie Trooper Costumer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,059
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    I got the KO 16GB Ravage for me and 8GB Cheetor for my daughter. Had no viruses or any other issues with either and we're quite happy with them!
    Later
     
  8. odeean

    odeean Infiltrator

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Posts:
    2,294
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +2
    If your Windows is up to date then the autorun was disabled in an update in 2009. Still if you don't know, the best thing would be to not use it. Assuming Macs are safe is also starting to become a dangerous proposition but there are other devices you could use to format it. For example, I have a photo frame and a camera that can format usb sticks.
     
  9. Slimshadow457

    Slimshadow457 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    918
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    Yeah, I have a mac, so I'll reformat. Thanks for all the help anyways :)  To those saying I should just display: I actually was looking to use it :/
     
  10. TigerBlade

    TigerBlade Prepare for extermination

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    22,017
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    327
    Likes:
    +5,216
    Surely a generic would be cheaper and not have these worries?

    I've got an 8Gb and it's absolutely fine.....but then it was used once to transfer summat and lives the rest of the time in a detolf.
     
  11. Saberfrost01

    Saberfrost01 元ロボ ダイユーシャ

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Posts:
    3,354
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +2
    I belive I might be able to help here.

    If autorun is disabled on your host machine and you plug a divice in with an Autorun.inf file on it then some anti-viruses will detect the autorun.inf on the USB device as being work. The alert is triggered becuse of conflicting commands in the devices autorun.inf as it is trying to communicate with the computers autorun.inf which is disabled and thus unaccessible. so the Usb devices autorun.inf tries to force communication. It's at this stage where it is normally intercepted by anti-viruses due to 'suspisious behaviour.'

    Alot of times it's actully a faulse positive but it's better to be safe than sorry.
     
  12. RedAlert Rescue

    RedAlert Rescue Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Posts:
    13,220
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +11
    There is a couple of threads on here with all the info you need use search and find them.
     

Share This Page