3D Artwork: 3D Ravage

Discussion in 'Transformers Fan Art' started by Rodentus prime, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. Rodentus prime

    Rodentus prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Posts:
    5,422
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Likes:
    +294
    After seeing the IDW Soundwave 1 shot I was inspired to make a model of the ravage design from it -



    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  2. blitzwingfan94

    blitzwingfan94 Vikings are the bomb!

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    493
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Likes:
    +5
    Ebay:
    thats fantasgreat man! And I only say that when I see something I really like
     
  3. K1dnotorious

    K1dnotorious Old Skool Like Kup

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Posts:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    Looks Really good, hope to see more
     
  4. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,583
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Sweet.
     
  5. killahbuny

    killahbuny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Posts:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    nice I like that lots
     
  6. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    Good job! I would love to see this with more of a toon rendering.
     
  7. Sycia

    Sycia Draconian Faction

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    1,226
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Now that is something! I rarely like 3D stuff, but this would earn an instant +fav if it were on Deviantart. :D  How about him with a more shiny texture?
     
  8. defstar

    defstar Autobot...

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3,592
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +1
    Looks really nice...you did a great job... :thumb 
     
  9. Rodentus prime

    Rodentus prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Posts:
    5,422
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Likes:
    +294

    What do you mean?

    Unfortunately I haven't a clue when it comes to working rendering packages - If anybody wants a go I can export the model to .3ds or .obj

    *Edit* I had a play about rendering with kerkythea -

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    Well, if you are using 3d studio max, which it looks like you are, you can get the illustrate! plugin to do some cool toon shading.

    I believe the website is www.davidgould.com
     
  11. Rodentus prime

    Rodentus prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Posts:
    5,422
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Likes:
    +294
    No, the above images are directly from sketchup.
     
  12. Sso02V

    Sso02V Injector Has a Posse

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    8,608
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +18
    It's a great job, through and through, but you lose all the detail in the second picture to the shadows, unless that's what you were going for. Do you build all the pieces separate and position them to make a new pose, or do you have a basic model that you move around to articulate?
     
  13. Rodentus prime

    Rodentus prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Posts:
    5,422
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Likes:
    +294
    I build the model in one piece but as I model each section I group it so when I select the parts I want to rotate they don't affect the rest of the model. I've uploaded it to the 3d warehouse if you want to have a look.
     

Share This Page