Customs: 3D Printing Scratch Builds?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Snaku, Jan 17, 2016.

1. Snaku

Snaku Primes Don't Party

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    So far I haven't seen any built-from-scratch 3D printed Transformers of a quality comparable to toys made by Takara and/or third parties. I have a few questions:

• Do any exist? Have I just not looked hard enough?
    • What challenges prevent people from 3D printing TFs from scratch?
    • What, if anything, can be done to overcome these challenges?

I'm tinkering with Blender to design a custom from scratch with the idea that I'd have it printed in pieces by Shapeways and then paint/assemble it. I'm new to 3d modelling so I haven't gotten too far into the project (I'm mostly blocking out where the parts will go and their rough shapes) and I'm sure there are going to be many unforseen difficulties, but I just wanted to know if this type of thing had been done before with any sort of success and, if not, why not?

Also, if I miraculously actually manage to pull this off without giving up, what would be the best way to obtain screws and pins that could be easily standardized: by which I mean, I'd want to be able to post instructions "I used X screw and Y pin from Z source" so others could print from Shapeways and easily follow along. I haven't built any of the joints yet or separated the parts into the smaller pieces that would screw together and I want to do so already knowing what parts will be needed as well as being sure they'll be available.

2. Kickedbaq

Kickedbaq Well-Known Member

First there are some awesome designers on here and some who sell on shapeways. Dig a little and you'll find some good stuff. This is one of my favorites: The Thugmeister (994C829AE) by fakebusker83

The drawbacks of 3d printing are:
    The plastics are generally not as durable and/or flexible as ones used in industrial casting. This is and can change...