3D Artwork: 3D Arcee head (for TFA Arcee)

Discussion in 'Transformers Fan Art' started by MACRAPTRON, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. MACRAPTRON

    MACRAPTRON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3,442
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +8
    I'm modelling some other stuff while I wait for the Punch/CP parts from Shapeways. Here's Arcee (for TFA Arcee):

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Next I'll be modelling new heads for Onslaught, Brawl and Vortex (for ROTF Bruticus).
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      56.5 KB
      Views:
      1,106
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      53.3 KB
      Views:
      427
  2. Cashanova

    Cashanova Sons Of Unicron PTT

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    489
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Nice work! You've really managed to capture the femininity.
     
  3. CZ Hazard

    CZ Hazard Sons of Unicron PTT

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Posts:
    6,224
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +119
    Nice work Macraptron! If you did this same head in scale with attachments for Binaltech Arcee I would totally buy it at the right price. Sure I'm not the only one either as that head was fugly.
     
  4. MACRAPTRON

    MACRAPTRON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3,442
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +8
    I'd need a Binaltech Arcee to make the proper adjustments, but it's definitely doable.
     
  5. MACRAPTRON

    MACRAPTRON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3,442
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +8
    Thanks man! Your work gave me the inspiration to try the Shapeways thing, keep rocking :D 
     
  6. Venksta

    Venksta Render Project Creations TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,232
    News Credits:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +37
    Nice idea Mako! This should look good on a repainted TFA Arcee, with proper G1 colors. Now I gotta find an extra. :D 
     
  7. Shadowbreaker

    Shadowbreaker \/ /\

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Posts:
    2,428
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Likes:
    +6
    Very nice work!

    Will you open a shapeways store? :) 
     
  8. Digilaut

    Digilaut My name is Drift.

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    10,563
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +31
    Looking superslick! Still not really sure if Animated Arcee's body is fitting enough to fit in with G1-esque characters, but with this head it will give people a great way to come close. :) 

    Are you going to upload some pictures of an eventual modded Arcee with this head?
     
  9. hXcpunk23

    hXcpunk23 The Chaos Bringer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Posts:
    3,021
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Definitely looking forward to seeing this done. It looks great and I can definitely use one on my TFA Arcee. Keep up the great work, man.
     
  10. Sledgehammer

    Sledgehammer Digital art monkey

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Posts:
    2,029
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent, England etc.
    Likes:
    +10
    Nice one, Mako - been looking forward to seeing you do something like this, and that Arcee head is spot-on. Can't wait to see how the print turns out, especially with the light-piping! :thumb 
     
  11. MACRAPTRON

    MACRAPTRON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3,442
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +8
    Thanks y'all. I'm just waiting for the Punch/CP heads to see if a design of mine actually works on a figure. I'll be making new forearms/fists for her, a pair of pistols and a cover to the back of the car mode (it will combine with the pistols for a larger weapon and/or work as a shield for robot mode):
     

    Attached Files:

  12. DavidLoPan

    DavidLoPan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,148
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Looks great. I'd def replace mine with that.
     
  13. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    Arise Serpentor!!! Great job Makoto. Love to see you back in the 3D game. So this Shapeways thing is really catching on?!? I haven't done any 3D printing in about 5 years. Sounds like I should get back into it. Last time I tried I always had problems when they imported my files. Any tips on that?
     
  14. Quintesson #1

    Quintesson #1 Eater of Fuzzy Stuff

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    632
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Nerf Macraptron! :O
     
  15. MACRAPTRON

    MACRAPTRON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3,442
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +8
    I'm still waiting for the first samples so I can't tell. A year ago or so I also had problems trying to upload stuff but everything went smooth this time, maybe they've changed something in their scheme.

    I've been exporting from .Max to .STL. Sometimes the scale gets messed so I have to go back to 3DS Max to resize and apply an xform modifier to reset the model dimensions. After that it's all good.
     
  16. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    Every time I try to upload a mesh I get errors about manifold errors. I presume I just have sloppy meshes. And I can never figure out what the issues are. I guess that's why I gave up on this printing stuff in the first place.
     
  17. MACRAPTRON

    MACRAPTRON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3,442
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +8
    Manifold is when you have duplicated faces in your mesh. There's a modifier called 'STL check' in 3ds Max that you can use to catch errors in your objects.

    Have you tried poly modelling? The old mesh edit is quite outdated now, as poly editing offers much more efficient tools.
     
  18. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    I'll give the modifier a try. I usually use polygonal modeling. At least I used to. I don't do much modeling at all any more. Thx.
     
  19. Venksta

    Venksta Render Project Creations TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,232
    News Credits:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +37
    Actually, manifold error can be a ton of different issues. It can be something as a simple a hole in your mesh, to too many polygons connected to the same point/vertice. You can have just one of those issues, or a combination. Depending on how you model, you will either not get these issues, or you always will.
     
  20. Blitz.

    Blitz. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    6,079
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +28
    looking really nice so far I really like how the buns are perfect circles
     

Share This Page